LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Q: Sting, Bane of Eight Legs and " is about to end"  (Read 2267 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

January 06, 2012, 05:12:12 AM
Read 2267 times

tanzhamster

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 50
Q: Sting, Bane of Eight Legs and " is about to end"
« on: January 06, 2012, 05:12:12 AM »
Hi there! :

A few days ago, I played a match where Frodo with Sting, Bane of Eight Legs was skirmishing a fierce Uruk-Hai in the fierce skirmish.
Frodo was about to loose the skirmish and to take one wound. I now wanted to discard the minion and used Sting. My opponent and a spectator said i have to wound Frodo first and than discard the minion.

So they meant:
skirmish: skirm actions until no one uses anything more -> placing wounds -> responses for "is about to end"

That is not the way i understand the skill of Sting, because in my opinion wounds are placed in the moment the skirmish ends and the phrase "is about to end" has to be bevor it ended allready.

So i think it should be like that:
skirmish: skirm actions until no one uses anything more -> responses for "is about to end" -> placing wounds if neccessary

So please tell me what is the right thing about it and be so nice to explain me why it is so if I'm wrong.

January 06, 2012, 08:24:53 AM
Reply #1

jcb213

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Villager
  • Posts: 202
Re: Q: Sting, Bane of Eight Legs and " is about to end"
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2012, 08:24:53 AM »
Your opponent and the spectator were correct.

From the Comprehensive Rule Book:
"A skirmish phase ends after all actions triggered by winning or losing that skirmish have resolved."

So the skirmish isn't about to end until everything triggered by the skirmish (including placing wounds) has been completed.

January 06, 2012, 10:34:41 AM
Reply #2

Yrael

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 124
Re: Q: Sting, Bane of Eight Legs and " is about to end"
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2012, 10:34:41 AM »
If something is "about to end" that means every other result of that action or phase has been completed. You would have to place wounds, burdens, and take threat wounds as well as any other actions with the condition "minion wins a skirmish" or "companion loses a skirmish" before being able to use sting's text.