LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Catapult Question?  (Read 2280 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

January 15, 2012, 05:22:38 PM
Read 2280 times

NappyKorn

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1284
  • The ShizKnight
Catapult Question?
« on: January 15, 2012, 05:22:38 PM »
Ok,  just for the sake of asking since I finally started playing with Knights and use a catapult in my deck.

Say they have a Ranged Commander (or any other card that reduces the twilight cost of cards) when a card is revealed from the top of the opponents deck is the modified or unmodified twilight cost considered when discarding a card from play.

Here is an example:

They have a Ranged Commander and lets say a Lurtz, Servant of Isengard and I use catapult and the card revealed has a twilight cost of [6], will Lurtz, Servant of Isengard be discarded if he is the only shadow card in play with that twilight cost since his twilight cost was lowered by Ranged Commander? I would think it would be considering his twilight cost is permanently lower with Ranged Commander in play and not something like Uruk Regular which lets you just play them for cheaper from a phase action.

Granted this is a fairly unlikely situation, but I nearly got myself caught in such a situation.

thanks in advance for the replies,

NK
If a Balrog falls from a bridge and noone is around, does it make a sound?

January 15, 2012, 06:14:03 PM
Reply #1

tanzhamster

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 50
Re: Catapult Question?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2012, 06:14:03 PM »
As long Ranged Commander is in play the twilight is reduced, so a revealed 6 would be able to discard Lurtz.

January 17, 2012, 09:16:50 AM
Reply #2

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Catapult Question?
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2012, 09:16:50 AM »
The rulebook mentions "Cards already in play that affect another card's twilight cost have that effect only when the card to be modified is coming into play." It then uses a revealed card as an example, but I think the same logic applies to a card already in play; in both cases, the twilight cost won't be modified (so Lurtz stays).