LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Character cannot use special abilities  (Read 4695 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

January 28, 2012, 07:20:45 AM
Read 4695 times

Tbiesty

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Character cannot use special abilities
« on: January 28, 2012, 07:20:45 AM »
What is the actual meaning of "character cannot use special abilities"?

Examples:  Crashing Cavalry, Perspective (erratum), Grima, Servant of Another Master

Does that mean...

1)  That character's owner may not use special abilities on that character card.

-or-

2)  That character's owner may not use special abilities on that character card, or on any cards that character bears.

« Last Edit: January 28, 2012, 07:36:49 AM by Tbiesty »

January 28, 2012, 08:11:09 AM
Reply #1

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Character cannot use special abilities
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 08:11:09 AM »
I'd have treated it as "Skirmish special abilities in those characters' game text cannot be used" in keeping with the unofficial rulebook discussion (making it option 1 here). Did something come up?

January 28, 2012, 08:17:18 AM
Reply #2

Tbiesty

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Character cannot use special abilities
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2012, 08:17:18 AM »
That discussion only considered either "just the character" or "all cards in play", I was wondering if there was another option that wasn't considered.

For example:

Merry bearing Merry's Sword.
If a card such as Grima, Servant of Another Master spots Merry and says that he cannot use special abilities, should that prevent him from using Merry's Sword.  Since he bears it, perhaps he is considered to be using it.

Just wondered if anyone ever considered this option.


January 28, 2012, 09:09:06 AM
Reply #3

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Character cannot use special abilities
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2012, 09:09:06 AM »
Since its meaning isn't defined in the rulebook, my inclination would be to keep things simple (picking one of the two extremes). Sliding down the slope halfway seems a bit arbitrary to me.

January 28, 2012, 10:16:15 AM
Reply #4

Tbiesty

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Character cannot use special abilities
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2012, 10:16:15 AM »
Yep, sounds good.  Option 1 it is.

January 31, 2012, 07:30:50 PM
Reply #5

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: Character cannot use special abilities
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2012, 07:30:50 PM »
I would say option 2 including conditions like forth the three hunters
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

February 02, 2012, 07:46:49 AM
Reply #6

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Character cannot use special abilities
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2012, 07:46:49 AM »
I would say option 2 including conditions like forth the three hunters

That would be incorrect. It only stops special abilities printed on the characters themselves.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

February 03, 2012, 02:17:01 PM
Reply #7

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: Character cannot use special abilities
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2012, 02:17:01 PM »
if i'm wrong (and its fine if I am) does the term special ability refer specifically to powers printed on a character's card? Because the wording of crashing cavalry sounds like it refers to anything with a text that reads "skirmish:..."
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

February 03, 2012, 05:01:23 PM
Reply #8

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Character cannot use special abilities
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2012, 05:01:23 PM »
Yes, it stops any Skirmish: special abilities printed on the characters involved.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

February 03, 2012, 10:10:54 PM
Reply #9

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: Character cannot use special abilities
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2012, 10:10:54 PM »
but leaves cards like forth the three hunters still usable during the skirmish phase
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

February 03, 2012, 10:39:47 PM
Reply #10

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Character cannot use special abilities
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2012, 10:39:47 PM »
You got it!
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

February 07, 2012, 02:48:47 AM
Reply #11

MarcinS

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1060
Re: Character cannot use special abilities
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2012, 02:48:47 AM »
Here is a relevant paragraph from Comprehensive Rules, in case you still have doubts:
"The source of an effect is the card on which that effect is printed. Even though a card like an event may require a minion to exert to pay its cost, the source of that effect is the event card and not the minion."
The fact that exertions or anything else are needed from a character, does not change the source of the effect, hence you should be able to use attached cards or anything outside of the very card that cannot be used.
New/old way to play Lord of the Rings online.
Give Gemp-LotR a try.
All sets are finished