LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Another question...  (Read 27804 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

January 29, 2009, 02:38:36 AM
Reply #15

Olorin

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 510
  • You shall not pass!
Re: Another question...
« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2009, 02:38:36 AM »
If my opponent plays corsair marauder to discard one of my possessions may I prevent that if I use shadowplay/unheeded combo and kill corsair marauder immediately?
Was this minion than played?
« Last Edit: January 29, 2009, 02:44:40 AM by Olorin »
Mithrandir I am known to the Elves, Tharkun to the dwarves; Olorin was the name in my youth in the West which is forgotten, in the South Incanus, in the North Gandalf; into the East I will not go."

January 29, 2009, 02:45:26 AM
Reply #16

Gil-Estel

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2267
  • Abuser of the Force
Re: Another question...
« Reply #16 on: January 29, 2009, 02:45:26 AM »
I would say no, due to the double action you're taking
..."Elves seldom give unguarded advice, for advice is a dangerous gift, even from the wise to the wise, and all courses may run ill"...

January 29, 2009, 02:53:02 AM
Reply #17

Olorin

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 510
  • You shall not pass!
Re: Another question...
« Reply #17 on: January 29, 2009, 02:53:02 AM »
hmm... if this is dependant of the double action... than it could be possible though... but the minion is played, or not?
Mithrandir I am known to the Elves, Tharkun to the dwarves; Olorin was the name in my youth in the West which is forgotten, in the South Incanus, in the North Gandalf; into the East I will not go."

January 29, 2009, 02:54:40 AM
Reply #18

Pepin The Breve

  • Well-spoken Gentlehobbit
  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 503
Re: Another question...
« Reply #18 on: January 29, 2009, 02:54:40 AM »
If my opponent plays corsair marauder to discard one of my possessions may I prevent that if I use shadowplay/unheeded combo and kill corsair marauder immediately?
Was this minion than played?

  GE is right. As a free people player you get the first opportunity to respond to the playing, so you can trigger Shadowplay and exert Marauder. Then the shadow player get his/her turn and choose a possession to discard. Only then the freeps can play Unheeded to kill Marauder.

January 29, 2009, 02:58:28 AM
Reply #19

Pepin The Breve

  • Well-spoken Gentlehobbit
  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 503
Re: Another question...
« Reply #19 on: January 29, 2009, 02:58:28 AM »
hmm... if this is dependant of the double action... than it could be possible though... but the minion is played, or not?

  According with step 4 of the "playing a card" issue the card is already in play. The effects "when you play" (and the opportunity to respond to this card being played) happens now. Other efects happen later.

January 29, 2009, 03:11:34 AM
Reply #20

Olorin

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 510
  • You shall not pass!
Re: Another question...
« Reply #20 on: January 29, 2009, 03:11:34 AM »
hmm... thanks guys... this sounds logically to me...

I am just wondering if there is a "one-step" method to kill such a minion before the effects happen? - any idea?
Mithrandir I am known to the Elves, Tharkun to the dwarves; Olorin was the name in my youth in the West which is forgotten, in the South Incanus, in the North Gandalf; into the East I will not go."

January 29, 2009, 03:32:48 AM
Reply #21

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Another question...
« Reply #21 on: January 29, 2009, 03:32:48 AM »
Shadowplay and Unheeded have different triggers. For each trigger, optional actions follow the action procedure. That means the FP player gets the first shot (with optional actions) both when the Marauder is played, and when the Marauder exerts. So yes, you can kill the Marauder before the Shadow player gets the opportunity to discard a possession.

January 29, 2009, 03:41:12 AM
Reply #22

Olorin

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 510
  • You shall not pass!
Re: Another question...
« Reply #22 on: January 29, 2009, 03:41:12 AM »
Really?
I think that would be a great chance to protect his possessions from corsair marauder or mumak commander... I didn't really know this... but thanks Elessar's Socks!

Have a :gp:
Mithrandir I am known to the Elves, Tharkun to the dwarves; Olorin was the name in my youth in the West which is forgotten, in the South Incanus, in the North Gandalf; into the East I will not go."

January 29, 2009, 04:47:01 AM
Reply #23

Pepin The Breve

  • Well-spoken Gentlehobbit
  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 503
Re: Another question...
« Reply #23 on: January 29, 2009, 04:47:01 AM »
   I see ES point and i guess he may be right but i´m still not sure about it.

   I guess the freeps have the first chance to respond....then they respond again to the situation created by his first response and the poor shadow player lose his action? Kinda unfair but...hey...who says that lotr tcg was a fair game?

January 29, 2009, 04:51:34 AM
Reply #24

HawkeyeSPF

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 639
Re: Another question...
« Reply #24 on: January 29, 2009, 04:51:34 AM »
ES is wrong. The marauder was still played, and the SP still gets to discard a weapon and add tokens.

I don't have time to find the exact rule right now, but will you take my word knowing that I was a worlds level judge?

January 29, 2009, 05:01:00 AM
Reply #25

Pepin The Breve

  • Well-spoken Gentlehobbit
  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 503
Re: Another question...
« Reply #25 on: January 29, 2009, 05:01:00 AM »
   Well, i think the best way of clearing a doubt when the rulebook seems unconclusive is  a word of an ex-decipher agent  ;)

   So i must say that justice was done...

January 29, 2009, 05:03:18 AM
Reply #26

leokula

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 870
Re: Another question...
« Reply #26 on: January 29, 2009, 05:03:18 AM »
Shadowplay and Unheeded have different triggers. For each trigger, optional actions follow the action procedure. That means the FP player gets the first shot (with optional actions) both when the Marauder is played, and when the Marauder exerts. So yes, you can kill the Marauder before the Shadow player gets the opportunity to discard a possession.

That doens't exist, man, there's no way you exert and wound and the shadow player just sit and watch.

All "When you play" actions would happen before the response to the exertion. You can't respond to the exertion if not all "when you play" actions have been performed yet.

ES is wrong. The marauder was still played, and the SP still gets to discard a weapon and add tokens.

I don't have time to find the exact rule right now, but will you take my word knowing that I was a worlds level judge?

I will :)

January 29, 2009, 05:10:39 AM
Reply #27

Olorin

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 510
  • You shall not pass!
Re: Another question...
« Reply #27 on: January 29, 2009, 05:10:39 AM »
...interesting...
Mithrandir I am known to the Elves, Tharkun to the dwarves; Olorin was the name in my youth in the West which is forgotten, in the South Incanus, in the North Gandalf; into the East I will not go."

January 29, 2009, 05:15:02 AM
Reply #28

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Another question...
« Reply #28 on: January 29, 2009, 05:15:02 AM »
Are we talking about two different things here? Is the order correct but the Shadow player still gets to discard, or is the order itself incorrect? I left it ambiguous here until I could get a response in this thread. I agree that either way, the Marauder was played.

If it's the former, that actually brings things in line with costs/effects (unless the ruling is reversed for those).

I'm not sure "fizzling" is even covered in the rulebook. Let the Worlds level judge decide. :lol:

January 29, 2009, 05:17:18 AM
Reply #29

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Another question...
« Reply #29 on: January 29, 2009, 05:17:18 AM »
Shadowplay and Unheeded have different triggers. For each trigger, optional actions follow the action procedure. That means the FP player gets the first shot (with optional actions) both when the Marauder is played, and when the Marauder exerts. So yes, you can kill the Marauder before the Shadow player gets the opportunity to discard a possession.
Surely by this logic the Marauder discards a possession.

1) The card is played
2) Any action that triggered off the playing of the card happens, starting with the Free Peoples player and Shadowplay, followed by the Shadow player discarding a possession.
3) Now there's new things happening and the Free Peoples player gets to respond to the exertion with Unheeded.

Thranduil