LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: combined actions  (Read 4358 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

July 10, 2009, 01:14:09 PM
Read 4358 times

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
combined actions
« on: July 10, 2009, 01:14:09 PM »
I read in the rules that you can't combine actions.  I don't understand what this means.  Please help.
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

July 10, 2009, 01:18:27 PM
Reply #1

ephen

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 93
Re: combined actions
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2009, 01:18:27 PM »
you can't use 2 morgul gates when playing a nazgul. that would be combining actions.

July 10, 2009, 03:36:29 PM
Reply #2

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: combined actions
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2009, 03:36:29 PM »
Another example, you couldnt use Buckland Homestead and Dark Approach to both play a cheap Nazgul and discard a condition.
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

July 11, 2009, 05:15:37 AM
Reply #3

ephen

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 93
Re: combined actions
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2009, 05:15:37 AM »
Just don't confuse this with having 2 copies of Goblin Armory and playing a [Moria] weapon which would add 2 because its triggered and not activated.

July 11, 2009, 12:46:42 PM
Reply #4

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: combined actions
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2009, 12:46:42 PM »
Just don't confuse this with having 2 copies of Goblin Armory and playing a [Moria] weapon which would add 2 because its triggered and not activated.

That's where I'm confused.  how do you determine triggered and activated?
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

July 11, 2009, 03:07:57 PM
Reply #5

Gil-Estel

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2267
  • Abuser of the Force
Re: combined actions
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2009, 03:07:57 PM »
Well I'll give you an example. Recently I built a deck with Sauron Trolls. Look at the cards Their Marching Companies and Great Siege Towers. Both have a shadow ability. Shadow is bold printed which makes it a special ability, you are able to use it. But since I can't combine phase actions, I can't play a besieger from a site I control, and add a token for that besieger. I used the besieger for the first action.
If, like Goblin Armory, Great Siege Towers would say: 'each time a besieger is played' it wouldn't be a special action, it would be a card that is triggered. Goblin Armory is triggered as soon as a weapon is played.
I hope this makes a bit sense ;)
..."Elves seldom give unguarded advice, for advice is a dangerous gift, even from the wise to the wise, and all courses may run ill"...

July 11, 2009, 04:08:27 PM
Reply #6

Gerontius

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 308
Re: combined actions
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2009, 04:08:27 PM »
There are probably enough examples already, but I think the rulebook explains it somehow like this: if you have both Weapons of Isengard and Attack on Helm's deep out, and you play an uruk archer, you can't add a token to each. However, if one of them said "each time", you could use the bold ability on the other to play the uruk, then the second would be triggered.

July 11, 2009, 05:43:44 PM
Reply #7

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: combined actions
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2009, 05:43:44 PM »
That makes much more sense.  I think I understand now
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

July 11, 2009, 08:07:53 PM
Reply #8

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: combined actions
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2009, 08:07:53 PM »
I think the rules specifically mention phase actions (performing non-response special abilities, playing non-response event cards)--basically actions using a bold phase name. You choose one and complete it before you can perform another, so as mentioned copies of Morgul Gates can't be combined.

Triggers include actions beginning with "When", "While", "Each time", "At the start of", etc. When the described situation happens, all cards that meet the situation trigger. An example of this would be each active copy of Orc Banner triggering when a companion loses a skirmish. Though technically you still aren't combining them since they're resolved one at a time.

July 12, 2009, 06:22:03 AM
Reply #9

ephen

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 93
Re: combined actions
« Reply #9 on: July 12, 2009, 06:22:03 AM »
Just make sure to notice the slight change in newer cards like Dark Approach, which doesn't have a bold phase name like morgul gates instead it says event-shadow which is the same thing as the bold shadow on morgul gates

July 12, 2009, 03:11:43 PM
Reply #10

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: combined actions
« Reply #10 on: July 12, 2009, 03:11:43 PM »
I did catch that.  Thank-you so much for all your help. 
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd