LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Return to Its Master  (Read 13891 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

October 19, 2009, 12:21:43 PM
Read 13891 times

Kralik

  • Guest
Return to Its Master
« on: October 19, 2009, 12:21:43 PM »
This card is a gem -- it really is! But because of the wording I need to make sure I'm reading it correctly. My take on it is something like this:

Return to Its Master:
Cost: Spot the Ring-bearer wearing the One Ring at the end of a skirmish phase
.....to.....
Effect: Cancel all remaining skirmishes and assign a Nazzie to the RB (Ring text does not apply)

So here's the question: If there is only one Nazgul on the table, taking the first skirmish, and he dies, can the card be played to cancel all remaining skirmishes?

I think it can because you do as much of the effect as possible.

Let me know. :)

October 19, 2009, 12:24:41 PM
Reply #1

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2009, 12:24:41 PM »
I think that it only cancels the skirmishes if you can assign a Nazgul to the Ring-Bearer. But I could be wrong.
-wtk

October 19, 2009, 12:29:48 PM
Reply #2

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2009, 12:29:48 PM »
Cancel assignments comes first in the card text. :P

You'd have to cancel a Nazgul's assignment first to reassign it anyway, so it has to be done in that order.

October 19, 2009, 12:33:39 PM
Reply #3

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2009, 12:33:39 PM »
But you asked if the Nazgul dies...I feel like when he dies you could not really...well...now I don't know!

Edit: What was the precedent with Sting, Bane of the Eight Legs?
-wtk
« Last Edit: October 19, 2009, 12:36:50 PM by ket_the_jet »

October 19, 2009, 12:36:36 PM
Reply #4

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2009, 12:36:36 PM »
Quote from: Return to Its Master
If the Ring-bearer wears The One Ring at the end of a skirmish phase, cancel all remaining assignments and assign a Nazgul to skirmish the Ring-bearer; The One Ring's game text does not apply during this skirmish.
The Ring-bearer wearing The One Ring is not quite a cost - it's the trigger that RtoiM responds to. It's unclear whether a trigger is a cost, but it seems to me that it better fits a requirement, which therefore must be met before you can begin to meet its costs. This seems to be consistent with the response rules.

Having said that, I'm not sure it's important for this particular card. The rest of its text reads like an effect to me, in which case you would be right. But it is very unclear, and you should get a real opinion.

Thranduil

October 19, 2009, 12:44:48 PM
Reply #5

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2009, 12:44:48 PM »
Having said that, I'm not sure it's important for this particular card. The rest of its text reads like an effect to me, in which case you would be right. But it is very unclear, and you should get a real opinion.

Well, as far as gameplay goes, it is very important to a certain deck of mine. Let's see what other opinions roll in.

October 19, 2009, 12:52:55 PM
Reply #6

Elgar

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 103
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2009, 12:52:55 PM »
My opinion is that the cancel all skirmishes and assign a Nazgul to skirmish the RBer are effects of that event, and therefore it can be used to cancel all skirmishes even if there is no Nazgul left in play (assuming you met the requirements [RBer wearing the one ring])

October 19, 2009, 12:54:25 PM
Reply #7

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2009, 12:54:25 PM »
With Sting, Bane of the Eight Legs, you have to survive the skirmish to be able to use the text. Just a comment.

It's a good deck.
-wtk

October 19, 2009, 12:55:08 PM
Reply #8

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2009, 12:55:08 PM »
It's a good deck.
-wtk

Don't you be giving anything away now...  [-X  :P

October 19, 2009, 02:20:05 PM
Reply #9

Alazzar

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 92
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2009, 02:20:05 PM »
Actually, if you go with the ruling that the Nazgul doesn't still need to be in play, then... why did there ever need to be a Nazgul in play in the first place?  If you go with this ruling, you could theoretically put Return to its Master into a deck that doesn't even have any Nazgul, and it would be playable (so long as the Ring-bearer is wearing the Ring, of course).

As far as my opinion goes, I don't see why you can't play the card without a Nazgul in play.  After all, doesn't the comprehensive rulebook say something about "completing as much of the effect as possible"?  You can't assign a Nazgul, but you can sure cancel all remaining assignments!

October 19, 2009, 02:59:04 PM
Reply #10

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2009, 02:59:04 PM »
Usually it's easier to get the ring on with Nazgul. ;)

October 19, 2009, 04:15:21 PM
Reply #11

Not a Zombie

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 786
  • An intelligent Corporeal, Previously sweet_stuff
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #11 on: October 19, 2009, 04:15:21 PM »
Uruk hia work too :P
No one loves you like I do.
--God

I'm imploring people I've never met to pressure a government with better things to do to punish a man who meant no harm for something nobody even saw, thats what I'm doing!

October 19, 2009, 04:37:02 PM
Reply #12

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #12 on: October 19, 2009, 04:37:02 PM »
If there is one nazgul on the table and he dies, but the rb is wearing the ring then yes, you would cancel the remaining skirmishes, I'm assuming there are more non-nazgul minions on the table, but why would you use it if all your nazzies are dead?
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

October 19, 2009, 05:23:59 PM
Reply #13

Not a Zombie

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 786
  • An intelligent Corporeal, Previously sweet_stuff
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #13 on: October 19, 2009, 05:23:59 PM »
you will see if you ever play him :D
No one loves you like I do.
--God

I'm imploring people I've never met to pressure a government with better things to do to punish a man who meant no harm for something nobody even saw, thats what I'm doing!

October 19, 2009, 05:50:00 PM
Reply #14

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2009, 05:50:00 PM »