LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Return to Its Master  (Read 13915 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

October 19, 2009, 05:51:50 PM
Reply #15

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #15 on: October 19, 2009, 05:51:50 PM »
I'd die.
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

October 19, 2009, 06:23:15 PM
Reply #16

FingolfinFinwe

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 507
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #16 on: October 19, 2009, 06:23:15 PM »
Dangit tells us already!!!   >:(   =P~

October 19, 2009, 10:09:58 PM
Reply #17

Not a Zombie

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 786
  • An intelligent Corporeal, Previously sweet_stuff
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #17 on: October 19, 2009, 10:09:58 PM »
All I will say is that it is truly brilliant and I'm making it in RL :D
No one loves you like I do.
--God

I'm imploring people I've never met to pressure a government with better things to do to punish a man who meant no harm for something nobody even saw, thats what I'm doing!

October 19, 2009, 10:12:09 PM
Reply #18

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #18 on: October 19, 2009, 10:12:09 PM »
I think I might make it in real life too.

But, not to give it away, but after you know what is coming it is much easier to avoid in future games.
-wtk

October 20, 2009, 09:21:53 AM
Reply #19

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #19 on: October 20, 2009, 09:21:53 AM »
I think the format for response actions is trigger -> effect (sometimes trigger -> cost -> effect), and you must perform as much of the effect as possible, so IMO it works.

And come to think, I never did figure out what fiendish scheme you had with Sam, Faithful Companion... :lol:

October 20, 2009, 11:08:01 AM
Reply #20

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #20 on: October 20, 2009, 11:08:01 AM »
And come to think, I never did figure out what fiendish scheme you had with Sam, Faithful Companion... :lol:

Free shuffling with the likes of Dear Friends and The Underdeeps of Moria.

November 17, 2009, 08:31:22 PM
Reply #21

LorienGuardian

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 20
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #21 on: November 17, 2009, 08:31:22 PM »
Hi all. I played a game with this guy who calls himself wtk in gccg. And he used Return to It's Master,  and that would kill my ringbearer. BUT, since he had two minions down, Gollum and a Nazgul, it became quite unclear on what would happen. Legolas was winning the skirmish vs. Gollum and had Bow of the Galadhrim, since both gollum and the Nazgul were exhausted, they both would die.
wtk then uses Return to It's Master, and my ringbearer being exhausted due to maneuver events and him wearing the ring, means he can reassign the Nazgul, or so he claims.

I then went to read the rulings, and since Return to It's Master can be played in the end of a skirmish phase, I wanted to find out when you could call a skirmish phase ending.

Well the rules state that the skirmish only ends after all actions triggered by the winning/losing of  that skirmish has taken place. It also states that after both players have passed, you move on to revolving the skirmish, and that the losing side (if not overwhelmed) takes wounds.

Then there's the actions of winning/losing the skirmish, and only then can the skirmish end, alas that the ending.

So I tell this guy what the rules says, but he keeps refusing and says that the skirmish is cancelled so gollum takes no wounds and I can't use the bow.

Well since the card says cancel all remaining assignments, it won't cancel the skirmish because it's over already. I then looked for errata/clarifications on the card, and it only says that an extra skirmish is created, which means.. that theoretically you can have a Witch-King, LoA fighting aragorn, then use return to it's master to fight frodo, then it's fierce skirmishing Aragorn again and if the  ringbearer still wears the one ring, and you have another copy of Return to It's Master he can then have his 4th fight with Frodo, which is very neat.

HOWEVER!! The skirmish is NOT cancelled, and the wound(S) ARE STILL assigned to the minion/companion and ALL effects of winning/losing (like Bow of the Galadhrim's effect) ARE STILL performed BEFORE you can say that it's THE END of the skirmish.

Just wanted to clarrify what the rulings say (:

If any of you knows something that I don't that says the opposite, then please tell me.

Lórien Guardian aka. Mikkz021

November 17, 2009, 08:58:41 PM
Reply #22

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #22 on: November 17, 2009, 08:58:41 PM »
Quote
A skirmish phase ends after all actions triggered by winning or losing that skirmish have resolved
I would say that the nazgul and gollum would be killed before return to its master could be used.

November 17, 2009, 10:18:34 PM
Reply #23

LorienGuardian

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 20
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #23 on: November 17, 2009, 10:18:34 PM »
Good day to you Mr. Lutzy and what a wonderful day it is (:

LórienGuardian

November 17, 2009, 10:31:19 PM
Reply #24

RedGoldStag

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 14
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #24 on: November 17, 2009, 10:31:19 PM »
I agree with Mr. Lurtzy -- both Gollum and the Nazgul die, and there is no opportunity to play Return to Its Master. According to Page 6 of the Comprehensive Rulebook, "A skirmish phase ends after all actions triggered by winning or losing that skirmish have resolved." Placing wounds on the losing character(S) and responses to winning like the Bow of the Galadhrim would both take place before the end of the skirmish phase, which is when Return to Its Master is played.

November 18, 2009, 12:15:15 AM
Reply #25

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #25 on: November 18, 2009, 12:15:15 AM »
I agree with Mr. Lurtzy -- both Gollum and the Nazgul die, and there is no opportunity to play Return to Its Master. According to Page 6 of the Comprehensive Rulebook, "A skirmish phase ends after all actions triggered by winning or losing that skirmish have resolved." Placing wounds on the losing character(S) and responses to winning like the Bow of the Galadhrim would both take place before the end of the skirmish phase, which is when Return to Its Master is played.
As far as I know, this is correct.

November 18, 2009, 08:59:02 AM
Reply #26

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #26 on: November 18, 2009, 08:59:02 AM »
I stand corrected. Could've just played His Terrible Servants as well and avoided this whole mess!
-wtk

November 24, 2009, 02:57:23 PM
Reply #27

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #27 on: November 24, 2009, 02:57:23 PM »
I concur, all wounds must be placed before RtIM can be played. Though in your particular situation, ket could still play it for no effect if he really wanted, since the RB still wears the ring at the end of a Skirmish.

November 26, 2009, 07:06:34 AM
Reply #28

Ringbearer

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 709
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #28 on: November 26, 2009, 07:06:34 AM »
I suspect some regroup actions.... maybe IsenOrcs or wraiths

November 02, 2014, 06:39:24 AM
Reply #29

Linarfin

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 11
Re: Return to Its Master
« Reply #29 on: November 02, 2014, 06:39:24 AM »
This is an interesting discussion, however I have one more question about this card that hasn't been discussed. "The One Ring's game text does not apply..", what exactly does this mean? Is Frodo still wearing the ring during the special skirmish or not? Is he getting +1 strength from the ring?