Here is another example to understand the concept of paying costs. Most decks that run Gandalf run some form of condition removal.
Deep In Thought is a very common condition that is run with Gandalf.
There are three costs to playing
Deep In Thought. One is
![4 [4]](https://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/Smileys/classic/4.png)
and the other two are spotting requirements--Gandalf and
![4 [4]](https://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/Smileys/classic/4.png)
. The twilight used to play
Deep In Thought does not count toward the
![4 [4]](https://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/Smileys/classic/4.png)
that you must spot. So you cannot play the card unless you can spot Gandalf and
![4 [4]](https://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/Smileys/classic/4.png)
(before you add the
![4 [4]](https://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/Smileys/classic/4.png)
to play the card).
There are a ton of
![Gandalf [Gandalf]](https://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/Smileys/classic/gandalf.png)
maneuver events that can generate twilight. Another common card is
Roll of Thunder. This card costs
![3 [3]](https://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/Smileys/classic/3.png)
. There are two costs for this card. Spotting Gandalf and
![3 [3]](https://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/Smileys/classic/3.png)
. Since
Roll of Thunder is a fairly common card in decks with
![Gandalf [Gandalf]](https://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/Smileys/classic/gandalf.png)
support, many people use it to generate the twilight necessary for
Deep In Thought. You may play
Roll of Thunder as long as you complete the requirements--adding twilight and spotting Gandalf, even if there is no possession or artifact to discard.
To bring this back to
Hard Choice. There are two costs. Paying
![1 [1]](https://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/Smileys/classic/1.png)
and spotting Aragorn. The effect is healing someone with the Aragorn Signet twice. You can play this event even if you have no companion with the Aragorn signet in play, as long as you can spot Aragorn and pay
![1 [1]](https://lotrtcgdb.com/forums/Smileys/classic/1.png)
.
I think that
Black Breath would likely be errata'ed as a clarification if a Players Committee was created so that it would look more like
Swept Away or
Steward's Tomb*.
Black BreathCondition • Support Area
Skirmish: Transfer this condition from your support area to a character skirmishing a Nazgul. Wounds cannot be healed and burdens cannot be removed from bearer.
That is what the card would look like to be more in-line with the game as it now stands.
-wtk