LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Sauron's Might  (Read 5159 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

December 10, 2009, 12:09:50 PM
Read 5159 times

sharkey

  • Guest
Sauron's Might
« on: December 10, 2009, 12:09:50 PM »
Some help here, on 2 rules.

First, Sauron's Might. Can I play this (to remove 1 twilight to place it on the bottom of my deck) even if there are no culture tokens? I would think so since it does not say, "To play, remove a culture token" I realize that I wouldn't be able to add the threat, but the idea is to leave it on bottom of the deck so as not to "deck out," and be susceptible to cards that prey on that (curruption cards).

Second, is there a regroup phase at the end of site 9 if the player's ringbearer survived (since they won)?
« Last Edit: December 10, 2009, 12:18:16 PM by sharkey »

December 10, 2009, 12:17:22 PM
Reply #1

sharkey

  • Guest
Re: Sauron's Might
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2009, 12:17:22 PM »
Okay, for the second one, the ringbearer just has to survive. There is no regroup phase.

December 10, 2009, 12:26:08 PM
Reply #2

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Sauron's Might
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2009, 12:26:08 PM »
Some help here, on 2 rules.

First, Sauron's Might. Can I play this (to remove 1 twilight to place it on the bottom of my deck) even if there are no culture tokens? I would think so since it does not say, "To play, remove a culture token" I realize that I wouldn't be able to add the threat, but the idea is to leave it on bottom of the deck so as not to "deck out," and be susceptible to cards that prey on that (curruption cards).
No. You have to pay any costs for a card, and one of those costs is to remove Free Peoples culture token. If it said simply "Remove a Free Peoples culture token and add a threat" then you could play it without any culture tokens, because it's part of the effect and not the cost and effect is carried out up the best of your ability to do so.

Second, is there a regroup phase at the end of site 9 if the player's ringbearer survived (since they won)?
Hence the Caverns of Isengard.

December 10, 2009, 12:32:11 PM
Reply #3

sharkey

  • Guest
Re: Sauron's Might
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2009, 12:32:11 PM »
Sauron's Might says: "Remove a Free Peoples culture token to add a threat. When you play this event, you may remove (1) to place this on the bottom of your draw deck instead of in your discard pile. " I think it would say, "To play, remove a Free Peoples culture token to add a threat. When you play this event, you may remove (1) to place this on the bottom of your draw deck instead of in your discard pile. "

December 10, 2009, 12:34:21 PM
Reply #4

sharkey

  • Guest
Re: Sauron's Might
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2009, 12:34:21 PM »
Also, with the "When you play this" text, that doesn't mean before the other effects come into play, does it?

December 10, 2009, 12:36:41 PM
Reply #5

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Sauron's Might
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2009, 12:36:41 PM »
Think of it this way: you can't play Pathfinder if you can't spot a ranger. It doesn't specify "To play, spot a ranger", but "Spot a ranger to" tells you that spotting a ranger is part of the cost of playing the card. You have to meet the costs otherwise you can't play it. Exactly the same case here.

And you have to play the event (and therefore have to be able to play the event) in order to remove [1] and put in on the bottom, because the card says so.

Thranduil

December 10, 2009, 12:44:41 PM
Reply #6

sharkey

  • Guest
Re: Sauron's Might
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2009, 12:44:41 PM »
Okay, cool. Thanks!

December 10, 2009, 08:21:34 PM
Reply #7

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Sauron's Might
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2009, 08:21:34 PM »
Sauron's Might says: "Remove a Free Peoples culture token to add a threat. When you play this event, you may remove (1) to place this on the bottom of your draw deck instead of in your discard pile. " I think it would say, "To play, remove a Free Peoples culture token to add a threat. When you play this event, you may remove (1) to place this on the bottom of your draw deck instead of in your discard pile. "
What constitutes requirements is a bit spread out, but it includes "Checking to see that all costs can be paid is a requirement of playing a card." Adding "To play" might help clarify things, though it'd be redundant.

December 10, 2009, 08:39:26 PM
Reply #8

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Sauron's Might
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2009, 08:39:26 PM »
The biggest question is - why would you play this card?
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

December 11, 2009, 05:29:04 AM
Reply #9

sharkey

  • Guest
Re: Sauron's Might
« Reply #9 on: December 11, 2009, 05:29:04 AM »
The biggest question is - why would you play this card?

So that I could have 1 card in my deck fellowship turn, in case people play cards that cause decking out to equal corruption.

December 11, 2009, 07:42:49 AM
Reply #10

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Sauron's Might
« Reply #10 on: December 11, 2009, 07:42:49 AM »
There are better cards. Goblin Sneak and Breeding Pit both send cards to the bottom of your deck. Gimli, Dwarf of Erebor works too. And that's just Fellowship of the Ring!
-wtk

December 11, 2009, 07:49:45 AM
Reply #11

sharkey

  • Guest
Re: Sauron's Might
« Reply #11 on: December 11, 2009, 07:49:45 AM »
Oh yeah, I know, that was just the one that I liked best. I can't use any of those cards, but I've fond some, like persistent orc.