LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: mana  (Read 4179 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

May 11, 2008, 07:50:04 PM
Read 4179 times

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
mana
« on: May 11, 2008, 07:50:04 PM »
Are you required to have mana in your deck?

May 12, 2008, 01:21:43 PM
Reply #1

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: mana
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2008, 01:21:43 PM »
Anyone?

May 12, 2008, 02:45:16 PM
Reply #2

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: mana
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2008, 02:45:16 PM »
Mana is what you get from mana sources, so you're asking wether or not you HAVE to have Lands in your deck, right? ;)
The answer is no, you don't have to, but it's awfully hard playing without them, unless you're playing Vintage. So, a short rundown on Lands and deckbuilding:
- Lands DO count against the maximum cards for a given deck;
- Lands ARE subject to the Rule of 4, except Basic Lands (there are 10 types of those), which you can have in any amount in a given deck;
- You CAN have Lands in a sideboard;
- A deck should USUALLY run about 22-24 lands in Extended and Standard, and although there ARE exceptions to this, they should be few;
- A Limited deck should run 17-18 lands, although I've seen them ranging from 15-18 with reasonable success.
So, any more questions? ;)
PS: Went through a Field Test, "judging" the Shadowmoor Pre-Release, around 70 people. So, well, it seems I'm sharp on rules questions, so fire away! :D