LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Discarding to heal.  (Read 5771 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

June 28, 2008, 02:28:08 PM
Read 5771 times

DáinIronfoot

  • Bearded Axeman
  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 6162
  • Never tickle a Dwarf!
Discarding to heal.
« on: June 28, 2008, 02:28:08 PM »
Okay, I know you can discard a unique companion from hand to heal a copy of that same companion that's already in play, even if they don't have the same subtitles. But I have a few questions I probably SHOULD know the answer to, but don't. :-[

- Can you discard a NON-unique companion from hand to heal another copy of that companion?

- Can you discard an ally to heal another copy of that ally? Or discard an ally to heal a companion of the same name? For example, can I discard Erland, Advisor to Brand to heal Erland, Dale Counselor?

- How about followers? Could I discard Radagast, Tender of Beasts to heal Radagast, The Brown?


Stupid questions in most cases, but the ally one in particular intrigues me, and I simply don't know and can't find a definitive answer. Can someone help this poor Dwarf out?
Best regards,
Dáin


Check out Lasting Alliances and The Road Ahead, my two completed DC sets, and also The Way Into Mordor (in progress), all part of my 5-set Wars of the Ring DC "block".

June 28, 2008, 02:49:46 PM
Reply #1

NappyKorn

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1284
  • The ShizKnight
Re: Discarding to heal.
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2008, 02:49:46 PM »
as for the non-unique companions I believe you can discard lets say a westfarthing businessman to heal another westfarthing businessman. On the same note I also believe you can toss an extra copy of an ally to heal an ally of the same title. Not entirely sure about tossing an ally to heal a companion of the same name, but I would say it would work as long as it is an Elrond for an Elrond. As for the followers I seriously doubt that would work, but if you get your answer to that and they can heal comps let me know that could make some interesting deck making perhaps.
If a Balrog falls from a bridge and noone is around, does it make a sound?

June 28, 2008, 04:15:18 PM
Reply #2

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Discarding to heal.
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2008, 04:15:18 PM »
This had me double-checking the rulebook, so I'll just quote it here:

"Discard to heal." Spot a unique companion or unique ally with at least one wound and discard a card from your hand with the same card title (it may have a different subtitle) to heal that character.

- You can discard to heal only unique companions and allies.

- It looks like you can discard allies to heal companions and vice versa, since the rule only checks for the same card title. However I'm not so sure about followers and other card types based on the FotR rulebook from way back:

Discard a unique companion or ally card from your hand to heal a character who has the same title (it may have a different subtitle).

The question is, was the rule intentionally updated to cover other card types? Since the Comprehensive Rulebook supersedes the FotR rulebook, it looks like discarding followers are okay. I'll see if I can dig up more stuff on this, though.

June 29, 2008, 06:55:36 AM
Reply #3

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Discarding to heal.
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2008, 06:55:36 AM »
ES is correct. The correct wording for the rule is 'spot a wounded unique companion or ally and discard a card with the same title to heal that character'
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

July 02, 2008, 01:11:24 PM
Reply #4

Gil-Estel

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2267
  • Abuser of the Force
Re: Discarding to heal.
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2008, 01:11:24 PM »
yeah, it came up a while a back, you know in the CC era, when me and some guy played a SDA game and he just discarded without the healing. Seems that LotRo allows this obvious mistake....
..."Elves seldom give unguarded advice, for advice is a dangerous gift, even from the wise to the wise, and all courses may run ill"...

July 04, 2008, 06:27:22 AM
Reply #5

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Discarding to heal.
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2008, 06:27:22 AM »
I agree with ES and the Jord. I would also be inclined to say that followers can be discarded to heal characters with the same title, but I doubt you'll find a ruling on that.

Thranduil

July 07, 2008, 03:05:26 AM
Reply #6

lem0nhead

  • Vegetarian Cannibal
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4205
  • Juicy Fruit
Re: Discarding to heal.
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2008, 03:05:26 AM »
According to those rules if you follow them word for word then Thran is right you could discard a follower to heal the companion though i would be uncomfortable with that it just doesnt seem right. Im sure if D were a semi-useful company they would have clarified the rule which hasnt changed ever since fotr, with the invent of the latter blocks.
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
That's like having "Some Who Ride Ponies" as a Rohan follower. ~ Dain Ironfoot.

July 07, 2008, 02:24:49 PM
Reply #7

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Discarding to heal.
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2008, 02:24:49 PM »
I never did figure out if other card types were okay. It was probably answered on the Decipher forums (checked CC), but they seem down for good.

I'd rather not second-guess the rulebook if I can help it, though.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2008, 02:30:21 PM by Elessar's Socks »

July 08, 2008, 07:20:58 PM
Reply #8

CarpeGuitarrem

  • ******
  • Information Offline
  • Lord
  • Posts: 3467
Re: Discarding to heal.
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2008, 07:20:58 PM »
According to those rules if you follow them word for word then Thran is right you could discard a follower to heal the companion though i would be uncomfortable with that it just doesnt seem right. Im sure if D were a semi-useful company they would have clarified the rule which hasnt changed ever since fotr, with the invent of the latter blocks.
Well, keep in mind that you're still limited to four copies of a card with that title, whether or not they're all companions. So, while stocking four copies of a companion may be less flexible than, say, two copies of that companion and two copies of a follower, it's more dependable. That's how it balances.

August 10, 2008, 08:37:16 AM
Reply #9

Pepin The Breve

  • Well-spoken Gentlehobbit
  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 503
Re: Discarding to heal.
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2008, 08:37:16 AM »
Well, there is a part that says: "...with at least one wound..." So i figure out that you cannot "discard to heal" a companion that have no wound tokens. For the other parts i think the people is right: you can discard a unique companion or ally to heal that character (even if you discard a ally to heal a companion) and you cannot discard a non unique companion to do the same...