LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Site Liberation  (Read 3620 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

February 14, 2010, 04:01:44 PM
Read 3620 times

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Site Liberation
« on: February 14, 2010, 04:01:44 PM »
Player 1 has site 1 controlled.
Player 2 has site 2 controlled.

Player 1 is at site 4, player 2 is at site 3, player 2 liberates a site in the regroup phase.

Can someone please explain exactly what happens to the sites that are controlled? Thanks.




 


February 14, 2010, 04:04:35 PM
Reply #1

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Site Liberation
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2010, 04:04:35 PM »
If player two liberates two sites, then two sites that player one controls are liberated. In this scenario, only site one is liberated as that is the only site controlled by the opponent.

A player may not liberate a site that he or she controls, as it is inactive when in a support area during the free peoples' turn.
-wtk

February 14, 2010, 04:07:41 PM
Reply #2

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Re: Site Liberation
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2010, 04:07:41 PM »
But that would leave site 2 being still controlled by player 2, and site 1 now 'uncontrolled'.

Would player 2 (After just having liberated site 1) then 'swap' his controlled site to site 1 instead of site 2?

(So the only site controlled is the first and not the 2nd)

February 14, 2010, 04:10:17 PM
Reply #3

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Site Liberation
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2010, 04:10:17 PM »
No, player 2 would continue controlling site two.
-wtk

February 14, 2010, 04:16:20 PM
Reply #4

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Re: Site Liberation
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2010, 04:16:20 PM »
Ok. Now..

Player 2 ends his turn (at site 3). Player 1 is ahead (at site 4). Player 1 has his fellowship phase and moves.. he is now at site 5 and ends his turn.

Player 2 has his fellowship phase and moves to site 4, while at site 4 player 1 takes control of a site.

Because site 2 is currently controlled by player 2, which site does player 1 then take? 1 or 3?



February 14, 2010, 04:21:19 PM
Reply #5

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Site Liberation
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2010, 04:21:19 PM »
Quote from: Current Rulings Document 4.0
When a Shadow player takes control of a site, the site on the adventure path with the lowest site number must be selected.

Is this going somewhere or are you just giving me the run-around?!
-wtk

February 14, 2010, 04:26:37 PM
Reply #6

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Site Liberation
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2010, 04:26:37 PM »
I will answer your next question and just post this from the CRD4.0:

control
Shadow players may use effects to take control of sites on the adventure path. When you take control of a site, place that site in your support area, lengthwise.
A Shadow player may only take control of a site on the adventure path if all player markers are on sites with higher site numbers.
When all player markers are at site 2 or higher, you may take control of site 1.
When a Shadow player takes control of a site, the site on the adventure path with the lowest site number must be selected.
An opponent controls site 1 and all player markers are at site 3 or higher, so you must take control of site 2.

The game text of a controlled site cannot be used by any player. Exception: The keywords of a controlled site still apply.
A player may "control a battleground."

When your opponent controls a site from your adventure deck, it's still your site.
Some cards can replace a controlled site. Move any cards stacked on the site being replaced to the new site, then return the old site to its owner's adventure deck.


liberate
A Free Peoples player may have a card effect that allows him to liberate a site. Only a site that another player controls may be liberated. You cannot liberate a site on the adventure path, a site in any adventure deck, or a site you control.
When you liberate a site, place it back on the adventure path. Any cards on that site are discarded. You must liberate the site with the highest site number controlled by one of your opponents first, regardless of which opponent controls that site. (If you control the site with the highest site number, you must liberate the next highest site controlled by an opponent.)

Cheers.
-wtk

February 14, 2010, 04:42:31 PM
Reply #7

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Re: Site Liberation
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2010, 04:42:31 PM »
Excellent. Thanks!

Understand completely now. I wasn't sure if there could be 'gaps' in which sites are controlled..

Have a  :gp:  

February 14, 2010, 04:46:12 PM
Reply #8

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Site Liberation
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2010, 04:46:12 PM »
Haha, no problem. Glad to clear everything up.

I'm out.
-wtk