LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO  (Read 15396 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

March 06, 2010, 07:33:49 PM
Read 15396 times

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« on: March 06, 2010, 07:33:49 PM »
Legolas, Greenleaf vs Ulaire Enquea, Thrall of The One


Can you exert Legolas with his text for no effect to prevent Enquea from taking any wounds in the archery phase?

Is there anything in the rules about having to perform as much of an action as possible? (I think I remember something along those lines..)

EDIT: Assuming Legolas is the only archer in play is what I mean by preventing Enquea taking wounds.

« Last Edit: March 06, 2010, 07:52:00 PM by MuadDib »

March 06, 2010, 08:10:54 PM
Reply #1

Sam, Great Elf Warrior

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 303
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2010, 08:10:54 PM »
Yes, you do have to perform as much of the action as possible. So if ToTo is the only minion, you have to wound him (there's really no point to using Greenleaf's text when there's only one minion, unless you just want to exert Legolas for no reason).

March 06, 2010, 08:22:59 PM
Reply #2

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2010, 08:22:59 PM »
(there's really no point to using Greenleaf's text when there's only one minion, unless you just want to exert Legolas for no reason).
The reason would be to prevent Enquea from adding burdens.

Or prevent enduring minions from getting stronger.

March 06, 2010, 08:58:53 PM
Reply #3

Sam, Great Elf Warrior

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 303
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2010, 08:58:53 PM »
I understand why you would want do it to no effect, but as it is, when there's only one minion, you must wound the lone minion, who would take the archery wound anyway, so there's no benefit (except that the minion gets wounded during archery actions instead of from the archery total, in the rare cases where that matters, e.g. Anduin River).

You have to wound a minion if possible, and if the only minion who can take archery wounds is ToTo, that's the minion you have to wound. It's a clever idea, but it won't work.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2010, 09:03:28 PM by Sam, Great Elf Warrior »

March 06, 2010, 09:03:39 PM
Reply #4

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2010, 09:03:39 PM »
Two people on gccg think that you can exert Legolas for no effect preventing an archery wound from him because his text says he does not add to the fellowsip archery total if you exert him.

Just exert him for no effect. No wound on Enquea. No burden from Enquea's text. That's how it was being used.





March 06, 2010, 09:07:47 PM
Reply #5

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2010, 09:07:47 PM »
I understand the point you raised, MD. I'll be honest that this is one of those that I really don't know.

I would suggest that you cannot exert him.

The basis I use for this argument is the card Foes of Mordor appearing in [Gondor] Wraith decks. That is legal to exert the [Gondor] Wraiths, even if there is no eligible [Sauron] minion in play; however, if a [Sauron] minion is in play, you have to wound that minion.

With no [Sauron] minion, you are exerting and then carrying out as much of the result as you can. With Greenleaf, in the same manner, you must carry out as much as you can. I.e., wound a minion.
-wtk


March 06, 2010, 09:08:33 PM
Reply #6

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2010, 09:08:33 PM »
Who were the two people on GCCG who said you can wound for no result? If they were someone off of the short list of people who I will accept rule corrections from without looking them up...then I would just side with them!
-wtk

March 06, 2010, 09:08:41 PM
Reply #7

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2010, 09:08:41 PM »
They are wrong. The "no effect" thing is truly only plausible when you do as much as possible. For example, you may use Narya and add [3] for no effect if you have no burdens, but you cannot add [3] and then decide not to remove a burden.

As far as "as much as possible" goes, remember the example of Secret Sentinels:
If you can spot an Orc and only one Shadow condition, you must discard a Free Peoples condition if there is one.

March 06, 2010, 09:10:08 PM
Reply #8

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2010, 09:10:08 PM »
And...I am going to side with Kralik.

* ket_the_jet must serve the massster.
-wtk

March 06, 2010, 09:14:45 PM
Reply #9

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2010, 09:14:45 PM »
From the Comprehensive Rulebook under effect (emphasis mine):

If the effect of a card or special ability requires
you to perform an action and you cannot, you
must perform as much as you can
and ignore the
rest. (See limit.)

...

If the effect of a card or special ability requires
you to choose one of two different actions, you
must choose an action that you are fully capable
of performing (if possible)
.

March 06, 2010, 09:24:54 PM
Reply #10

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2010, 09:24:54 PM »
Incidentally, the second entry there would seem to indicate that you couldn't use Greenleaf to shoot an Easterling bearing a loaded Easterling Polearm (not that you'd want to, but illegal nonetheless). Or... using Hate to wound an exhausted [Gondor] Wraith with Swept Away. Am I reading that correctly? :suspect:

March 06, 2010, 09:33:22 PM
Reply #11

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2010, 09:33:22 PM »
Incidentally, the second entry there would seem to indicate that you couldn't use Greenleaf to shoot an Easterling bearing a loaded Easterling Polearm (not that you'd want to, but illegal nonetheless). Or... using Hate to wound an exhausted [Gondor] Wraith with Swept Away. Am I reading that correctly? :suspect:

Your set-up may be a little flawed. If the Free People's player has Greenleaf and the opponent has an Easterling bearing an Easterling Polearm, I don't see why they could not shoot for nothing. If that same opponent had an Easterling bearing an Easterling Polearm and a second minion, you would have to direct wound the character capable of taking a wound.

On other set-up, if the free People's player has a ring-bearer, an exhausted Wraith, the initiative, and Swept Away, then you could use Hate for no effect. But if the free people's player had the same set-up as before and a non-exhausted Wraith (or any other character except the Ring-Bearer), then Hate would have to target one of those eligible companions.
-wtk

March 06, 2010, 09:34:58 PM
Reply #12

Sam, Great Elf Warrior

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 303
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2010, 09:34:58 PM »
I agree with ket.

March 06, 2010, 09:47:23 PM
Reply #13

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2010, 09:47:23 PM »

-wtk













Edit: It doesn't mean I like the movie. Check out my rant here if you are not offended by adult language and material.

March 07, 2010, 12:03:16 AM
Reply #14

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: Greenleaf vs Enquea TOTO
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2010, 12:03:16 AM »
remember the example of Secret Sentinels:
If you can spot an Orc and only one Shadow condition, you must discard a Free Peoples condition if there is one.
SAY WHAT!  You have to dump a freeps condition!  I thought the "or" in the text implied options.
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd