LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony  (Read 3918 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

April 23, 2010, 12:11:52 PM
Read 3918 times

Mythdracon

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 879
  • You cannot pass!
Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
« on: April 23, 2010, 12:11:52 PM »
In FOTR, let's say I have Pippin, Mr Took in my fellowship, and add a burden to play a ranger from Prancing Pony. Will Aragorn, if I play him, be twilight cost 2 with Pippin's ability if drawn from the draw deck?
A wizard is never late...nor is he early. He arrives precisely when he means to.

April 23, 2010, 12:14:46 PM
Reply #1

Faelach

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 146
Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2010, 12:14:46 PM »
Yes.  Pippin's text comes into effect when you "play Aragorn".  Even though you it's from your Draw Deck, you are still PLAYING Aragorn.

It's a nice chain, I must admit.
Do not take dragons lightly.  They are heavier than you think.

April 23, 2010, 01:02:38 PM
Reply #2

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2010, 01:02:38 PM »
No, phase actions can't be combined; one must be completely performed before another can be performed.

April 23, 2010, 01:08:59 PM
Reply #3

Sam, Great Elf Warrior

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 303
Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2010, 01:08:59 PM »
No, phase actions can't be combined; one must be completely performed before another can be performed.
This is correct. You must complete the action on The Prancing Pony before you can use Pippin's action. The only exception is responses, which can interrupt other actions.

April 23, 2010, 01:57:26 PM
Reply #4

Faelach

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 146
Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2010, 01:57:26 PM »
:O  Looks like my friend cheated me out in quite a few games!
Do not take dragons lightly.  They are heavier than you think.

April 23, 2010, 03:35:52 PM
Reply #5

Marcoliboar

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 70
Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2010, 03:35:52 PM »
both actions are fellowship, so action by action, so pippins text does not apply.

pippin game text is

Fellowship: Play Gandalf or Aragorn; his twilight cost is -2.

but if his text would be just,

 Play Gandalf or Aragorn; his twilight cost is -2.

whit out Fellowship, then it would cost -2 :)


April 26, 2010, 09:37:24 AM
Reply #6

Witchkingx5

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1159
Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2010, 09:37:24 AM »
Ahem, Ahem.

It was me who posted these Beginner's articles which should help the players understand the rules, and as I remember, I wrote "read this before asking any questions" on the thread. However, maybe you should just take a look at this article (Bidding and the Starting Fellowship) where the exactly same example is given.

I must complain that there are many questions which can be taken directly from a certainrulebook. So everyone, if you're not sure, first look into the Rulebook, then ask the community.

April 29, 2010, 07:18:52 PM
Reply #7

Mythdracon

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 879
  • You cannot pass!
Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2010, 07:18:52 PM »
But it's too long for someone as busy and impatient for me to read! :P

How about this: Castamir of Umbar exerts in Shadow phase to play Corsair Marauder to add 2 tokens to a possession that already has a Corsair token on it. Corsair Marauder reads, "When you play this minion, if you can spot another corsair, you may discard a possession to add 2 Corsair Tokens to a card that already has a Corsair Token on it. Can you effectively play the Marauder, add 2 tokens, then discard a possession to add 2 further tokens? I'm assuming it's yes, since both are not the same phase of action, i.e. "Shadow:".
A wizard is never late...nor is he early. He arrives precisely when he means to.

April 29, 2010, 07:32:44 PM
Reply #8

simplegarak

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 146
Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2010, 07:32:44 PM »
Can you effectively play the Marauder, add 2 tokens, then discard a possession to add 2 further tokens? I'm assuming it's yes, since both are not the same phase of action, i.e. "Shadow:".

You are correct for the right reasons.  If something says "when" or "each" or "every" then it would apply whenever those conditions occur.

So with Corsair Marauder, you get to discard a possession no matter HOW he's played, just as long as he is.

May 03, 2010, 10:24:29 AM
Reply #9

Witchkingx5

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1159
Re: Pippin, Mr Took and Prancing Pony
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2010, 10:24:29 AM »
Agree, that's correct.