LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg  (Read 1316 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

May 14, 2010, 08:33:43 AM
Read 1316 times

legolas3333

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2152
Ok, this is getting annoying I have played people who don't understand the "because I have only 1 shire event in my discard pile I can grab it with birthday present," and I get it cause it is kinda a weird ruling, but this is ridiculous, I played a guy today who thought that he could use tower of barud-dur, orc inquisitor and the like, even though I had Frodo, CH, THE WORDING IS RIGHT THERE ON THE CARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I lost cause he discarded like 15 cards with desperate measures when I was at 8 then he tripled past me to 9. A related annoyance is guys playing the old text for Thor's Map and We Must Go Warily, making me add a burden when playing my solo smeagol deck, I've lost two games from people thinking that I can't spot an exhausted gondor wraith with elessar's edict. GAH!!!!

anyone else have horror stories like me or is it because I play with the wrong people?
« Last Edit: May 14, 2010, 11:38:53 AM by legolas3333 »
A Promo Saved is a Promo Earned

May 14, 2010, 09:58:33 AM
Reply #1

Marcoliboar

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 70
personaly i dont like the ruling regarding Birthday Present (10R104), its just WRONG!

but Frodo, CH, just like you said, the rule is ON THE CARD. you should quit the game..

June 03, 2010, 03:20:27 PM
Reply #2

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2010, 03:20:27 PM »
The Birthday Present ruling isn't WRONG... you do as much as possible after paying the cost of a burden. Perhaps it should have been worded differently if it wasn't meant to be so... exploitable. ;)

June 03, 2010, 04:21:45 PM
Reply #3

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2010, 04:21:45 PM »
Tell them to use CTRL + H over those cards... it shows errata for Thror's Map. I don't know if it does the same for Elessar's Edict. I know that someone tried to discard my Sword of Dol Guldur when I won the skirmish with Ulaire Toldea, Winged Sentry. (love that combo) CTRL + H helped ;)

As for the Birthday Present, first time I saw that done was when Kralik did in one his "wild" decks ;)

He said it can be done and Kralik is Kralik ;)
« Last Edit: June 03, 2010, 04:24:00 PM by hrcho »
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

June 03, 2010, 04:59:46 PM
Reply #4

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2010, 04:59:46 PM »
He said it can be done and Kralik is Kralik ;)

Per Decipher's own errata, not my word! :lol:

June 05, 2010, 12:52:18 PM
Reply #5

legolas3333

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2152
Re: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2010, 12:52:18 PM »
In kraliks hands birthday present is the second coming of steadfast champion
A Promo Saved is a Promo Earned

June 05, 2010, 04:17:35 PM
Reply #6

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2010, 04:17:35 PM »
So i understand the correctly.  Add 2 burdens to pull 2 different cards from discard pile.  Opponent chooses one to discard, and you keep the other.  The problem is that the player is only pulling 1 card because they only have 1, correct?  What is the problem i am missing?  Are they only pulling one card?  If they only pull one card, cant you discard it?  Can we be a little more detailed as to the source of the distress?
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

June 05, 2010, 04:33:17 PM
Reply #7

chompers

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2010, 04:33:17 PM »
So i understand the correctly.  Add 2 burdens to pull 2 different cards from discard pile.  Opponent chooses one to discard, and you keep the other.  The problem is that the player is only pulling 1 card because they only have 1, correct?  What is the problem i am missing?  Are they only pulling one card?  If they only pull one card, cant you discard it?  Can we be a little more detailed as to the source of the distress?

Add 1 burden ... take two shire events from discard pile with different titles (if there is not two take as many as you can). Opponent chooses one for you to put in hand (presumably the other goes back to discard pile rather than remain lost in the space betwen because the card doesn't tell you what to do with the other - there is probably a rule on this?).

So - design a deck with only ONE shire event, and you always get back the card you want as no other shire event will ever hit the discard pile. Clever and potentially broken if the shire event removes more than one burden. Although it is a condition - so there are solutions for the opponent.
« Last Edit: June 05, 2010, 04:38:40 PM by chompers »

June 05, 2010, 04:33:32 PM
Reply #8

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg
« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2010, 04:33:32 PM »
Add one burden to pull a single card as there is no other [Shire] event in the deck. One day I'll add Decipher's clarification to the database, from the August 9, 2005 CRD:

Quote:
If the Free Peoples player has only 1 event (or up
to 4 copies of the same event, but no other [Shire]
events) in his or her discard pile, that event is
taken into hand.

I combo with my deadly Durin's Secret Dear Friends deck and another TSC / SaE / NFFatRoD deck (in the latter, 3 copies of the last two events).

June 05, 2010, 04:35:50 PM
Reply #9

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2010, 04:35:50 PM »
(presumably the other goes back to discard pile rather than remain lost in the space betwen because the card doesn't tell you what to do with the other - there is probably a rule on this?).

It was never actually removed from discard, just "spotted" so to speak in discard.

June 06, 2010, 04:26:52 PM
Reply #10

Cw0rk

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1379
  • .
Re: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg
« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2010, 04:26:52 PM »
Birthday Present is ridiculous. I think that there should be a gentlemen's agreement of not using Birthday Present when there is only one card in the discard pile, or not using it at all.

June 06, 2010, 04:58:49 PM
Reply #11

Not a Zombie

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 786
  • An intelligent Corporeal, Previously sweet_stuff
Re: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2010, 04:58:49 PM »
Kralik: I'm still waiting to play you and your secret society of dear friends :)
No one loves you like I do.
--God

I'm imploring people I've never met to pressure a government with better things to do to punish a man who meant no harm for something nobody even saw, thats what I'm doing!

June 06, 2010, 05:29:15 PM
Reply #12

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2010, 05:29:15 PM »
Birthday Present is ridiculous. I think that there should be a gentlemen's agreement of not using Birthday Present when there is only one card in the discard pile, or not using it at all.

Along with a gentleman's agreement of not using Cirdan when there are > 2 Elvents in discard... ;)

June 07, 2010, 03:00:19 AM
Reply #13

Gil-Estel

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2267
  • Abuser of the Force
Re: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg
« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2010, 03:00:19 AM »
Sorry clock, but I disagree with you. There are way worse cards then Birthday Present, Cirdan being one of them.
..."Elves seldom give unguarded advice, for advice is a dangerous gift, even from the wise to the wise, and all courses may run ill"...

June 07, 2010, 06:28:04 AM
Reply #14

legolas3333

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2152
Re: The general state of people not knowing the currrent rulings on gccg
« Reply #14 on: June 07, 2010, 06:28:04 AM »
Well technically there was never an end to the power creep but I agree with you
A Promo Saved is a Promo Earned