LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Reclaim the Precious and Mad Thing  (Read 4407 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

February 19, 2011, 04:22:51 PM
Read 4407 times

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Reclaim the Precious and Mad Thing
« on: February 19, 2011, 04:22:51 PM »
I am looking for opinions on this.

Reclaim the Precious is prevented with a burden, but its Gollum, Mad Thing in play. I am assuming that RtP gametext does not interfere with Mad Thing.

Any other views?
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

February 19, 2011, 04:34:20 PM
Reply #1

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Reclaim the Precious and Mad Thing
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2011, 04:34:20 PM »
If you assign Gollum, Mad Thing with RtP (FP does not prevent it), then the FP does not have to make him str +3 or add a burden. Only when the FP wants to assign Gollum, Mad Thing, he has to pay the price.
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

February 19, 2011, 04:39:35 PM
Reply #2

Tbiesty

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Reclaim the Precious and Mad Thing
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2011, 04:39:35 PM »
If you assign Gollum, Mad Thing with RtP (and FP does not prevent it), then the FP does not have to make him str +3 or add a burden. Only when the FP wants to assign Gollum, Mad Thing, he has to pay the price.
Yep.

February 19, 2011, 04:42:22 PM
Reply #3

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Reclaim the Precious and Mad Thing
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2011, 04:42:22 PM »
But does RtP make the Free Peoples player assign Gollum?
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

February 19, 2011, 04:45:53 PM
Reply #4

Tbiesty

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Reclaim the Precious and Mad Thing
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2011, 04:45:53 PM »
But does RtP make the Free Peoples player assign Gollum?
I suppose the extra "... and assign Gollum." does mean the Free Player must assign him right then.

February 19, 2011, 04:52:39 PM
Reply #5

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Reclaim the Precious and Mad Thing
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2011, 04:52:39 PM »
But you could claim that assigning Gollum is part of the effect...
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

February 19, 2011, 05:15:17 PM
Reply #6

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Reclaim the Precious and Mad Thing
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2011, 05:15:17 PM »
If the Free Peoples player prevents the assignment via RtP then he MUST assign Gollum, Mad Thing. It is part of the effect and the Free Peoples player must complete the effect as much as he can. Then the FP would also have to make Gollum, MT str+3 or add a burden.

But think about it. Even if I was wrong (which you know... I'm not) and if the FP added a burden to prevent the SP from assigning Gollum, but not assigning Gollum himself, there is nothing preventing you from attempting to assign Gollum again. Since repeating this would easily lead to corruption, the best thing is to assign Gollum the first time.
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

February 19, 2011, 05:21:14 PM
Reply #7

Tbiesty

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Reclaim the Precious and Mad Thing
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2011, 05:21:14 PM »
If the Free Peoples player prevents the assignment via RtP then he MUST assign Gollum, Mad Thing. It is part of the effect and the Free Peoples player must complete the effect as much as he can. Then the FP would also have to make Gollum, MT str+3 or add a burden.

But think about it. Even if I was wrong (which you know... I'm not) and if the FP added a burden to prevent the SP from assigning Gollum, but not assigning Gollum himself, there is nothing preventing you from attempting to assign Gollum again. Since repeating this would easily lead to corruption, the best thing is to assign Gollum the first time.
Agreed.

March 10, 2011, 05:15:28 AM
Reply #8

Ringbearer

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 709
Re: Reclaim the Precious and Mad Thing
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2011, 05:15:28 AM »
The card effect doesnt assign gollum, the card effect allows the free peoples to assign gollum while assignment actions are still going. That is the big difference.

See it as this: I allow you to drive my car. If you do, you're the one driving. No matter if I gave permission, you drive.

March 10, 2011, 06:52:57 AM
Reply #9

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Reclaim the Precious and Mad Thing
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2011, 06:52:57 AM »
The card effect doesnt assign gollum, the card effect allows the free peoples to assign gollum while assignment actions are still going. That is the big difference.

See it as this: I allow you to drive my car. If you do, you're the one driving. No matter if I gave permission, you drive.

Actually, RtP not only allows the FP to assign Gollum (if the FP chooses to add a burden), but MAKES the FP assign Gollum. As I said earlier, that part of the text is a part of effect and since the effect has to be fulfilled as much as possible and the FP can assign Gollum, then the FP must assign Gollum.
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

March 10, 2011, 01:15:03 PM
Reply #10

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Reclaim the Precious and Mad Thing
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2011, 01:15:03 PM »
I also read "...and assign Gollum" as forcing the FP player to assign Gollum, which incidentally is needed for the FP player's sake (as hrcho said) to stop the alternative being a corrupted Ring-bearer.