LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Deathly Roar and Wound assigning  (Read 3852 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

July 12, 2011, 06:59:36 AM
Read 3852 times

Yrael

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 124
Deathly Roar and Wound assigning
« on: July 12, 2011, 06:59:36 AM »
I didn't see a good answer on the search function, so I guess I'll ask.

Deathly Roar (as well as another card I use, Worry) says that each time an  [Uruk] minion wins a skirmish, I may remove a token to exert a companion. Same goes for Worry, each time any Uruk-Hai wins a skirmish, the free people must either exert the ring bearer or add a burden.

My question is do these exertions come before wounds are assigned or after, and by extension, could I use Deathly roar to bring a target companion to the brink of death after the skirmish is resolved but before the wounds are assigned?

July 12, 2011, 07:31:57 AM
Reply #1

Gartax

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 104
Re: Deathly Roar and Wound assigning
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2011, 07:31:57 AM »
Mandatory action always come first. In that case, placing the wound is mandatory therefore it comes before the abilities.

Win - change the standing status ( in case with unheeded and stooping to the kill) - mandatory action (in case of more than one the free peapole decide the order) - optional action.


at least this is what I use when I play!

July 12, 2011, 09:22:01 AM
Reply #2

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Deathly Roar and Wound assigning
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2011, 09:22:01 AM »
Treating the default wound as a required action, I'd say that the wound is resolved before Deathly Roar (optional), and that the FP player chooses whether to resolve the wound or Worry (required) first.

Although, I've been treating multiple wounds as something that must be resolved as a whole before moving on to another required action (responding to the win/loss). I mean, can you do wound-Worry-wound from a damage bonus if you really wanted to?

July 12, 2011, 09:42:20 AM
Reply #3

Yrael

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 124
Re: Deathly Roar and Wound assigning
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2011, 09:42:20 AM »
Kk thanks

July 12, 2011, 09:55:29 AM
Reply #4

Gartax

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 104
Re: Deathly Roar and Wound assigning
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2011, 09:55:29 AM »
For Elesar

If my memory is right, the damage +1 is describe as "an additionnel wound". So they are 2 different action. Place the firts wound than place the second one.  just look at Promise keeping and shelob that is damage +1


So you can do wound exert wound with worry

July 12, 2011, 10:11:04 AM
Reply #5

leokula

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 870
Re: Deathly Roar and Wound assigning
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2011, 10:11:04 AM »
I'm sorry to disagree but I think "win the skirmish" happens before any wounds are assigned, so Worry and Deathly Roar would trigger before wounds are placed.

Mandatory action always come first.

Do you have a reference to the rulebook stating that?
« Last Edit: July 12, 2011, 10:13:46 AM by leokula »

July 12, 2011, 11:23:26 AM
Reply #6

Gartax

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 104
Re: Deathly Roar and Wound assigning
« Reply #6 on: July 12, 2011, 11:23:26 AM »
http://lotrtcgwiki.com/forums/index.php/topic,345.0.html

•Comprehensive Rules 4.0. section 2

action
Nearly everything that occurs during the game is some kind of action. Players perform actions to play cards, use special abilities, move their fellowships, reconcile, and so on.
Every action is either optional or required. An optional action is defined as: an action that uses the word "may," an event, or a special ability. All other actions are required actions.
If two or more required actions are occurring at the same time (for example, more than one "start of turn" action), the Free Peoples player decides in which order they occur.
All required actions responding to a particular trigger are performed before any optional actions. After all such required actions have resolved, players may perform optional actions responding to that same trigger using the action procedure. (See response.)
See also cost, effect, loops.


July 12, 2011, 12:35:48 PM
Reply #7

Yrael

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 124
Re: Deathly Roar and Wound assigning
« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2011, 12:35:48 PM »
Thanks Gartax. I suspected that is how it goes but I wasn't sure.

July 12, 2011, 12:59:40 PM
Reply #8

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Deathly Roar and Wound assigning
« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2011, 12:59:40 PM »
If my memory is right, the damage +1 is describe as "an additionnel wound". So they are 2 different action. Place the firts wound than place the second one.  just look at Promise keeping and shelob that is damage +1
Hmm... so I guess each wound is a separate response to losing a skirmish, as opposed to there being just one response of placing all wounds (which, within this response, are still placed one at a time). I'd have to be careful with how I describe it.