LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth  (Read 3134 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

August 10, 2011, 02:52:23 PM
Read 3134 times

plnp123

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 20
Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
« on: August 10, 2011, 02:52:23 PM »
I have a problem with Pippin, Guard of Minas Tirth 's text. I think its a case of very bad wording

To play, spot a [Gondor] Man. Skirmish: Discard 4 cards from hand to wound a minion Pippin is skirmishing twice if that minion bears a fortification.

i was using him as follows
If the minion skirmishing Pippin does not bear a fortification, then i shall discard 4 cards and wound him once
otherwise if the minion does bear a fort, then i would wound him twice.
Is that correct? or does only the second interpretation is.
Nevertheless the guy who wrote that may need some grammar classes
Thanks in advance!

August 10, 2011, 03:33:25 PM
Reply #1

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2011, 03:33:25 PM »
no, that is not correct. he only wounds twice. if they don't bear a fortification, no wounds.

August 10, 2011, 03:51:03 PM
Reply #2

Air Power

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 771
Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2011, 03:51:03 PM »
I agree with macheteman.  If it did what plnp described, it would be worded " . . . wound a minion Pippin is skirmishing once, or twice if that minion bears a fortification" or something like that
"If the world becomes pagan and perishes, the last man left alive would do well to quote the Iliad and die." -G.K. Chesterton, The Everlasting Man

August 10, 2011, 05:24:28 PM
Reply #3

azogsbane

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 122
Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2011, 05:24:28 PM »
Macheteman and Air Power are definitely correct.

August 10, 2011, 06:13:01 PM
Reply #4

SomeRandomDude

  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 7004
  • Most Likely To Usurp Kralik and Dáin
    • My Wordpress
Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2011, 06:13:01 PM »
"Discard 4 cards from hand to wound a minion Pippin is skirmishing twice if that minion bears a fortification."

Grammar to the rescue. If it meant what you thought it meant, there would be an extra comma between "skirmishing" and "twice."

"Discard 4 cards from hand to wound a minion Pippin is skirmishing, twice if that minion bears a fortification."

As is, macheteman is correct. A bit ambiguous, but familiarity with rules of grammar clear it up.
NB- 4 year veteran of CC/TLHH

"It was like:
Kralik: "What hath God wrought"
NB: "I dunno, but I'm in ur house eating ur food.""
-Elessar's Socks

Trade List- ft. Aragorn, Defender of Rohan

August 10, 2011, 06:20:33 PM
Reply #5

plnp123

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 20
Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2011, 06:20:33 PM »
Yeah the comma makes the difference... Thanks for the response! although I still think that the grammar wasn't very good XD

August 10, 2011, 10:18:18 PM
Reply #6

menace64

  • The Late-Night Moderator
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Global Mod
  • Posts: 1898
  • Bruce Campbell is my father.
Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2011, 10:18:18 PM »
It's less an issue of grammar and more to do with how Decipher worded cards before Pippin was written. How it should have been:

"Discard 4 cards from hand to wound a minion Pippin is skirmishing twice (if that minion is bearing a fortification)."

August 13, 2011, 06:04:03 AM
Reply #7

Templar

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 9
Re: Pippin Guard of Minas Tirth
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2011, 06:04:03 AM »
Oooor "If Pippin is skirmishing a minion bearing a fortification, you may discard 4 cards to wound that minion twice. You win the game."