LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Order of Actions  (Read 4158 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

September 15, 2011, 06:30:55 AM
Read 4158 times

jmantel

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 5
Order of Actions
« on: September 15, 2011, 06:30:55 AM »
My opponent has http://lotrtcgwiki.com/pages/LOTR11157.html on the table and thinks that the order in which I play cards doesn't matter for the purpose of this card; i.e. that if I play a condition first and then play a minion, the minion still has to exert even though he wasn't on the table when the condition was played. 

My discussion of what I think are very clear rules to the contrary (that the minion will not exert because the required trigger action of RoS has to end before I take my next optional action) hasn't convinced him.  Can someone give me a detailed answer as to whether or not my minion will need to exert due to my playing a condition before I play that minion?

September 15, 2011, 07:44:44 AM
Reply #1

Stormcrow

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 87
Re: Order of Actions
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2011, 07:44:44 AM »
If you play a shadow condition and then play a minion, that minion does not exert. However, if you already have your minion on the table and then you play a shadow condition, your minion exerts.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2011, 08:21:19 AM by Stormcrow »

September 15, 2011, 07:45:07 AM
Reply #2

MarcinS

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1060
Re: Order of Actions
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2011, 07:45:07 AM »
From the http://lotrtcgwiki.com/rules/crd.pdf - "playing a card" entry, point 5:
Respond to the playing of The Card (and to losing initiative if necessary). Responses or triggered actions that respond to the playing of
The Card happen now
. If The Card has game text on it that triggers "When you play..." The Card, it happens now. Other cards may respond to the card being played as well. These are handled in the manner described under actions and action procedure. If The Card was a Free People's card and it leaving your hand causes you to lose initiative, each player may respond to you losing initiative now.

The relevant part is in bold. "Each time a Shadow condition is played, you may exert a minion.", so this triggers and can be used ONLY during the step 5 of playing the Shadow Condition.

To add on top of that, bearing in mind that both playing Shadow Condition and Minion are Phase actions for Shadow phase, from Comprehensive rules:
"Each phase action must be completely performed before another phase action can be performed. Phase actions cannot be combined."

Therefore when you play Shadow Condition, the "Each time a Shadow condition is played..." can be used during step 5. Only after you get through the whole process of "playing a card" (steps 1 through 7), you can start playing Minion, hence at that time it's impossible to use the "Each time a Shadow condition is played..."

Hope that helps.

« Last Edit: September 15, 2011, 07:50:08 AM by MarcinS »
New/old way to play Lord of the Rings online.
Give Gemp-LotR a try.
All sets are finished

September 15, 2011, 07:46:16 AM
Reply #3

MarcinS

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1060
Re: Order of Actions
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2011, 07:46:16 AM »
If you play a shadow condition and then play a minion, that minion does not exert. However, if you already have a shadow condition on the table, your minion exerts.
I hope you mean - "... if you already have a minion on the table..."
New/old way to play Lord of the Rings online.
Give Gemp-LotR a try.
All sets are finished

September 15, 2011, 07:53:15 AM
Reply #4

Stormcrow

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 87
Re: Order of Actions
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2011, 07:53:15 AM »
If you play a shadow condition and then play a minion, that minion does not exert. However, if you already have a shadow condition on the table, your minion exerts.
I hope you mean - "... if you already have a minion on the table..."

Yep :P. TYPO

September 15, 2011, 09:18:40 AM
Reply #5

Yrael

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 124
Re: Order of Actions
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2011, 09:18:40 AM »
On a side note, you can just type the name of a card into a forum post, and it will automatically like to the database entry on that card.

for example

Rush of Steeds

September 15, 2011, 09:48:54 AM
Reply #6

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Re: Order of Actions
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2011, 09:48:54 AM »
not only will it "like" to the database, it will also LINK to the database.

September 15, 2011, 09:54:46 AM
Reply #7

Yrael

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 124
Re: Order of Actions
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2011, 09:54:46 AM »
oops lol

September 15, 2011, 10:48:25 AM
Reply #8

jmantel

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 5
Re: Order of Actions
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2011, 10:48:25 AM »
lol thanks for the responses, the help on rules and internet savvy are appreciated :)

September 15, 2011, 10:50:15 AM
Reply #9

jmantel

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 5
Re: Order of Actions
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2011, 10:50:15 AM »