The point is, that option shouldn't even come up. The FP might have a reason to want to exert their companion (like if they're playing
Wraiths), so having the Spearman work correctly I'd a good idea.
Problem is that the card, the way it's worded, doesn't work with the rules of the game, so I had to come up with something that will make it work, so instead of exerting "to assign this minion to skirmish", FP players is given an option at the beginning of the assignment phase, to exert to be able to assign it at all.