LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Which Triggers first?  (Read 9820 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

September 10, 2008, 09:44:39 AM
Reply #15

SomeRandomDude

  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 7004
  • Most Likely To Usurp Kralik and Dáin
    • My Wordpress
Re: Which Triggers first?
« Reply #15 on: September 10, 2008, 09:44:39 AM »
I think this question came up before, when Gollum first came out, and since Gollum's text is optional, it waits. Treebeard, Enraged Shepherd, on the other hand, would trigger first since its a mandatory action. However, Treebeard, Enraged Shepherd can be used later, in case you want the first minion still left around for, say, fierce + Pallando on a vit 2 minion. Because all the actions are chosen like this.

Mandatory: Freeps picks which one first.
Optional.

The placing of a wound is just another mandatory action, albeit one built into the game.

Also, after something occurs, the response abilities may be played ANY time something happens, and they must be resolved IMMEDIATELY. Meaning

Gollum wins skirmish.
Mandatory actions, wound placed.
Response to wound being placed: Companion dies
Response to companion dying: Threats trigger.
Optional Actions: Gollum's text triggers, you have another threat.

Treebeard, Enraged Shepherd wins skirmish.
Mandatory Actions: Ability triggers freeps picks which one goes first, usually exertions because that can often finish the minion then and there.
Response to, say, minion about to take a wound respond with With All Possible Speed.
Optional Actions, like Pallando.

This also helps cuz you get to use your With All Possible Speed before Pallando trashes it, w00t!

So...my 2 cents.
NB- 4 year veteran of CC/TLHH

"It was like:
Kralik: "What hath God wrought"
NB: "I dunno, but I'm in ur house eating ur food.""
-Elessar's Socks

Trade List- ft. Aragorn, Defender of Rohan

September 10, 2008, 10:26:30 AM
Reply #16

FingolfinFinwe

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 506
Re: Which Triggers first?
« Reply #16 on: September 10, 2008, 10:26:30 AM »
hms.  that sure makes Treebeard, ES even better than I thought.  But that system does make some sense.  All you rules guru's please confirm this so we have something concrete.

Skirmish won:
Mandatory actions first (including the wound for winning skirmish & FP chooses order)
    - Responses (including possible threats trigger if companion is killed)
Optional actions
    - Responses

argh.

September 10, 2008, 11:04:49 AM
Reply #17

SomeRandomDude

  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 7004
  • Most Likely To Usurp Kralik and Dáin
    • My Wordpress
Re: Which Triggers first?
« Reply #17 on: September 10, 2008, 11:04:49 AM »
Responses are like, ignore them. I just made them for clarification. Play a response and resolve it immediately when its okay to play it. A companion dying is a response to vitality being depleted to 0. Threats triggering are a response to a companion dying.
NB- 4 year veteran of CC/TLHH

"It was like:
Kralik: "What hath God wrought"
NB: "I dunno, but I'm in ur house eating ur food.""
-Elessar's Socks

Trade List- ft. Aragorn, Defender of Rohan

September 10, 2008, 01:59:04 PM
Reply #18

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Which Triggers first?
« Reply #18 on: September 10, 2008, 01:59:04 PM »
   This make room for different interpretations on the correct timing but for me they occurs at the same time (threats and mandatory for winning or losing...
If they happen simultaneously, the FP player could conceivably perform required actions to winning/losing a skirmish before required actions to killing a companion (the trigger to winning the skirmish). Sort of like the anti-time anomaly in the last episode of The Next Generation. :o So I don't think this is a case of simultaneity, but maybe there's something on this in the archives (if I knew where to look).

Any takers on the overwhelm business?

check strength -> skirmish winner declared -> companion overwhelmed OR
check strength -> companion overwhelmed -> skirmish winner declared?

Quote from: lem0nhead
Quote from: Pepin The Breve
Which Triggers first?

The chicken. Definately not the egg.

But where does the omelette come in?! ;)
Ooh, Cooking TCG! How cool would it be if the omelette came before the egg.

September 10, 2008, 03:07:39 PM
Reply #19

Elf_Lvr

  • ******
  • Information Offline
  • Lord
  • Posts: 3628
  • Rhythmic Ringwraith
Re: Which Triggers first?
« Reply #19 on: September 10, 2008, 03:07:39 PM »
check strength -> skirmish winner declared -> companion overwhelmed

I'm inclined to think it's this one, because the winner is declared based on who has more strength after both players pass actions, and then overwhelming happens instead of taking a wound (under the condition that the minion has double strength). So I'd say that overwhelming would happen at the same time that wound-taking would NORMALLY happen, after declared winners.

Happy Hunting!
Remember Cobracards.com.
Thou cannot unjack what doth hath been jacked. - Menace64
"To die's the day worth livin' for!"
Maybe you guys can find a bard and have your story of heroic Balrog proximity put into verse.