LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?  (Read 77568 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

December 30, 2012, 06:02:45 AM
Reply #60

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #60 on: December 30, 2012, 06:02:45 AM »
Two different situations, sgtdraino.

In the Intimidate-vs-Uruk example, two wounds are directed at the companion, and each one will go through its own action procedure and be placed and/or responses to individually.

For Deceit-vs-Clever Hobbits, it's not so simple. Each condition is only being attempted to be discarded once. FP selects the conditions he wants to discard, then Deceit can respond to each one individually. By the time Deceit has saved a condition, you have already passed the point where you can remake that selection.

Same thing with Deep in Thought. Deceit can save as many conditions as it is able to. So the result will be all Shadow conditions except the saved ones will be discarded.

Edit: I just thought of something. The effect of an Uruk winning is "wound the loser twice." So an analogous situation to that would be a card that says "discard a condition twice." Now we all know how silly that phrase sounds, but that does help illustrate that, to use SAT terminology, Uruk:Intimidate is not comparable to Clever Hobbits:Deceit.

Like I said before, when you play Clever Hobbits, you choose which conditions you want to discard. Once you've made the choice, then Deceit can save as many as it is able to. You can't go back to choose those ones again, because you only make the choice once.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2012, 06:55:40 AM by bibfortuna25 »
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

December 30, 2012, 08:34:54 AM
Reply #61

sgtdraino

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1041
  • Ranger of Ecthelion
    • Facebook
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #61 on: December 30, 2012, 08:34:54 AM »
For Deceit-vs-Clever Hobbits, it's not so simple. Each condition is only being attempted to be discarded once. FP selects the conditions he wants to discard, then Deceit can respond to each one individually. By the time Deceit has saved a condition, you have already passed the point where you can remake that selection.

This goes back to the third issue I raised, which has yet to be addressed:

Third issue: When using a card that discards multiple conditions, I find that many players have a tendency to believe there is only a "single sweep," or that the action is broken down into sub-phases where you first target all the conditions you can target, then you attempt to discard them, and then you aren't able to target any more. The question is, is this actually based on any sort of rule or ruling? As far as I can tell, it is not. The act of playing or using a card that discards multiple conditions in a single action is just that: A single action. During the course of that action players might do things one at a time for the sake of expediency (it is difficult to literally pick up 12 cards simultaneously), but so far as the game is concerned, everything is conceptually happening at once, and a response action simply pauses that single action, which then continues after the response action ends. Is my understanding correct? Why or why not?

Like I said before, when you play Clever Hobbits, you choose which conditions you want to discard. Once you've made the choice, then Deceit can save as many as it is able to. You can't go back to choose those ones again, because you only make the choice once.

Can you point to where the rules support what you say?
"I would have followed you, my brother... my captain... my king." - Boromir

December 30, 2012, 03:41:30 PM
Reply #62

Shelobplayer

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 479
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #62 on: December 30, 2012, 03:41:30 PM »
Like I said before, when you play Clever Hobbits, you choose which conditions you want to discard. Once you've made the choice, then Deceit can save as many as it is able to. You can't go back to choose those ones again, because you only make the choice once.

Can you point to where the rules support what you say?

Just an example on how the game would work going by the opposite logic:

Greenleaf attempts to wound Freca and the opponent is using Hides to prevent it, Greenleaf can chose a new target for free.  [-X I doubt that they include common sense like that in the rulebook, but I hope I'm wrong, so you can have a satisfying answer.

December 30, 2012, 04:46:24 PM
Reply #63

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #63 on: December 30, 2012, 04:46:24 PM »
It's not so much the rules having something to say, but common sense. Anytime you are choosing multiple cards for whatever purpose, the first thing you do is identify which cards you are doing it to.

The Trees Are Strong makes FP wound companions based on the number of Orcs discarded. So FP chooses, say, Gimli, Frodo, Gandalf and Aragorn. Each person is scheduled to be wounded once. Intimidate can respond to any of the wounds. If you prevent Aragorn's wound, the remaining wounds still have to be placed on Gimli, Frodo and Gandalf. You can't choose Aragorn again.

Same thing goes for Clever Hobbits. You choose which ones you want to discard, and that's it. You only make the choice once.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

December 30, 2012, 08:56:01 PM
Reply #64

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #64 on: December 30, 2012, 08:56:01 PM »
You're issue 3 echoes back to the wound issue. Technically a dmg +1 character who wins a skirmish deals both wounds at once, yet intimidate would only cancel 1 wound. Or as pointed out, hides would only cancel 1 wound. If someone wants to cancel the second wound they wound need to play a second copy of intimidate or remove more twilight for hides. It is likewise for conditions. Yes, they are all being discarded at once, but each condition has a separate window in which it can respond to the action discarding it.

So if you play deep in thought and I use deceit to save my conditions I have to save each one separately thus expending more resources.

I see what you are getting at and i give you kudos for thinking outside the box, but your intellect is clearly beyond the capacity of us mere mortals ;)
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

December 31, 2012, 02:34:28 PM
Reply #65

sgtdraino

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1041
  • Ranger of Ecthelion
    • Facebook
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #65 on: December 31, 2012, 02:34:28 PM »
Just an example on how the game would work going by the opposite logic:

Greenleaf attempts to wound Freca and the opponent is using Hides to prevent it, Greenleaf can chose a new target for free.  [-X I doubt that they include common sense like that in the rulebook, but I hope I'm wrong, so you can have a satisfying answer.

This isn't a good example, because Greenleaf only deals one wound per action. If the wound is prevented, no one is suggesting Greenleaf could choose a new target for free. The wound is prevented, so the action is over. The issue is what happens when the number of cards to be discarded (or number of wounds to be dealt) exceeds the number of discards (or wounds) that can be prevented.

Suppose, for the sake of argument, that one Greenleaf action deals 3 wounds instead of one. Obviously a single use of Hides isn't going to prevent all 3 wounds.

It's not so much the rules having something to say, but common sense. Anytime you are choosing multiple cards for whatever purpose, the first thing you do is identify which cards you are doing it to.

That may be the way you do it, but that doesn't necessarily mean that's the way the rules dictate it be done. Who's to say I can't point at them one at a time, even though they are conceptually all being discarded at once? Find me where the rules say you target once, and then you cannot target again, and the issue will be resolved.

The Trees Are Strong makes FP wound companions based on the number of Orcs discarded. So FP chooses, say, Gimli, Frodo, Gandalf and Aragorn. Each person is scheduled to be wounded once. Intimidate can respond to any of the wounds. If you prevent Aragorn's wound, the remaining wounds still have to be placed on Gimli, Frodo and Gandalf. You can't choose Aragorn again.

Suppose, for the sake of argument, the SP discards 8 Orcs for The Trees Are Strong. The card dictates that 8 characters be wounded. Say you use Intimidate to prevent a wound to Aragorn, then you wound Gimli, Frodo and Gandalf. Great! But there's still 4 more wounds incoming, and one character on the table (Aragorn) who has not yet been wounded, because you prevented the wound he would have taken. If you had just wounded him and not prevented it, he wouldn't have taken any more than that, because the card only wounds each character once. But until that happens, the effect is still trying to resolve itself with a character on the table who has not yet been wounded.

Same thing goes for Clever Hobbits. You choose which ones you want to discard, and that's it. You only make the choice once.

If that is true, it shouldn't be that hard to point to some kind of related ruling or rule that dictates all targeting for discards (or wounding) can only be done at the front of the action. So far, I still haven't seen that. So far, what I've seen is, "well, this is the way we've always done it." Bib, your sig says "All cards do what they say, no more, no less." Well, if The Trees Are Strong says wound 8 characters, and you've still got a character on the table yet who hasn't been wounded, and not all 8 of those wounds have yet been prevented or assigned, then the card has not yet done what it says.

You're issue 3 echoes back to the wound issue. Technically a dmg +1 character who wins a skirmish deals both wounds at once, yet intimidate would only cancel 1 wound. Or as pointed out, hides would only cancel 1 wound. If someone wants to cancel the second wound they wound need to play a second copy of intimidate or remove more twilight for hides. It is likewise for conditions. Yes, they are all being discarded at once, but each condition has a separate window in which it can respond to the action discarding it.

Agreed. The issue is what happens when a condition is prevented from being discarded once, when there are still discard attempts remaining in the action, and no other conditions left on the table.

I'll go back to the FNF example: Say FNF has 5 tokens on it, SP only has three conditions on the table: Two copies of Deceit, and one copy of Final Strike. There are only 3 twilight in the pool. FNF is activated, and its effect becomes "discard 5 conditions." SP uses Deceit three times (taking out three twilight) to prevent his three conditions from being discarded. However, once those response actions have been taken, the original action continues. Since only 3 discards were prevented, the effect now continues as "discard 2 conditions," and three conditions can still be spotted on the table. As best I can tell, there is no rule anywhere which says those three conditions are protected for the remainder of the action, no rule anywhere that says I can't now target two more for discard, no rule anywhere that says the rest of FNF's text doesn't continue to the fullest possible extent that it can. On the contrary:

If the effect of a card or special ability requires
you to perform an action and you cannot, you
must perform as much as you can and ignore the
rest.

In this case the effect of FNF was "discard 5 conditions," only 3 of those discards were prevented, and 3 conditions can still be spotted on the table.

To top it off, we already have a ruling (admittedly unofficial) on this issue over in Archives, made by "High King of Rules" forum administrator TheJord, who stated in no uncertain terms that Clever Hobbits could indeed target the same condition over and over again until all the twilight is gone.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2012, 02:36:44 PM by sgtdraino »
"I would have followed you, my brother... my captain... my king." - Boromir

December 31, 2012, 03:47:10 PM
Reply #66

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #66 on: December 31, 2012, 03:47:10 PM »
If The Trees Are Strong discards more Orcs than the number of companions, then the extra Orcs don't do anything. It doesn't specify that 8 wounds must be placed; it specifies that 8 companions must be wounded. If there are not 8 companions in play, you do what you can and ignore the rest.

It doesn't matter what TheJord said. ANY card that specifies multiple targets selects all of those targets before you actually perform the action to them. I don't know how to make this any clearer. Clever Hobbits chooses its conditions once, then Deceit saves some, then Smeagol gets his bonus based on how many are actually discarded.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

December 31, 2012, 07:39:32 PM
Reply #67

Shelobplayer

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 479
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #67 on: December 31, 2012, 07:39:32 PM »

This isn't a good example, because Greenleaf only deals one wound per action. If the wound is prevented, no one is suggesting Greenleaf could choose a new target for free. The wound is prevented, so the action is over. The issue is what happens when the number of cards to be discarded (or number of wounds to be dealt) exceeds the number of discards (or wounds) that can be prevented.

It is a perfect example in my opinion, but if you prefer Fires and Foul Fumes vs Intimidate then have it your way. From my point of view you are questioning something that should be common sense, hoping to convince the community to give you a silver bullet against something you hate to play against.

December 31, 2012, 08:26:04 PM
Reply #68

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #68 on: December 31, 2012, 08:26:04 PM »
I think you mean The Trees Are Strong vs Intimidate.

Sgtdraino doesn't seem to understand the difference between:

Wound X companions
Wound a companion X times
Place X wounds on companions

The Trees Are Strong uses the first method.
Red Wrath uses the second method.
Archery fire uses the third method.

All condition discarding cards use the first method, for what I hope are obvious reasons. That's why Clever Hobbits chooses its conditions first, then Deceit can save some, then Smeagol gets his bonus.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

December 31, 2012, 08:51:14 PM
Reply #69

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #69 on: December 31, 2012, 08:51:14 PM »
Sgt, (for clarity's sake) are suggesting that if I use secret sentinels to discard 2 conditions I can target the same condition 2x instead of targeting two condition once?

I think Decipher would have spelled that out clearly in their rules if that were the case.

Again, Kudos for thinking outside the box, but methinks you're incorrect on this one. No, I don't have a rule which I can cite to back up my claim, but I do not interpret the ruling you cited the same as you.  

So unless you can convince the entire community we've been playing LOTR wrong for the last 10 years (during which time Decipher had plenty of time and tournaments to correct such an error), I don't see anyone caving on this.

Sorry pal.
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

January 01, 2013, 07:59:43 AM
Reply #70

sgtdraino

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1041
  • Ranger of Ecthelion
    • Facebook
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #70 on: January 01, 2013, 07:59:43 AM »
If The Trees Are Strong discards more Orcs than the number of companions, then the extra Orcs don't do anything. It doesn't specify that 8 wounds must be placed; it specifies that 8 companions must be wounded. If there are not 8 companions in play, you do what you can and ignore the rest.

Right. BUT, if you only have 4 companions in play, and the card says wound 8 companions, and one of those companions hasn't yet been wounded (because you prevented it with a response action), then in my view the effects of the card have not yet been carried out to the fullest extent possible. Once all four have been wounded once, then the rest of the effects can be ignored.

It doesn't matter what TheJord said. ANY card that specifies multiple targets selects all of those targets before you actually perform the action to them. I don't know how to make this any clearer.

You can make it clearer by actually referencing where the rules or rulings in any way back up what you say. Usually you are quite good at that, but as of right now, what you say means no more (and possibly less) than what TheJord said.

Clever Hobbits chooses its conditions once, then Deceit saves some, then Smeagol gets his bonus based on how many are actually discarded.

Based on what? What is your basis for believing that conditions are only targeted at the front of the effect, and cannot be targeted again for the duration, regardless of response actions?

It is a perfect example in my opinion, but if you prefer Fires and Foul Fumes vs Intimidate then have it your way.

Still not germane, since Fires and Foul Fumes only targets a single character per action. And I'm sure we both agree that Intimidate does not protect that target from all the wounds being dealt.

From my point of view you are questioning something that should be common sense, hoping to convince the community to give you a silver bullet against something you hate to play against.

Certainly I would like that, since I believe Deceit is overpowered. Yet it was *I* who found and quoted the section from CR 3.0, thinking that would resolve the issue via nerfing Clever Hobbits. It was Bib who demonstrated that the section (which had since been reworded) definitely does not hold true.

I think you mean The Trees Are Strong vs Intimidate.

I agree, that is a good comparison.

Sgtdraino doesn't seem to understand the difference between:

Wound X companions
Wound a companion X times
Place X wounds on companions

The Trees Are Strong uses the first method.
Red Wrath uses the second method.
Archery fire uses the third method.

All condition discarding cards use the first method,

No, I understand this just fine. The rest of the effect is ignored once each card in question has been dealt a blow. The issue is what happens when there are still blows to be dealt, and one card hasn't yet taken one (because you prevented it before with a response action).

for what I hope are obvious reasons.

"It's common sense" and "it's obvious" do not constitute evidence. Neither does, "we played this way for 10 years."  Bib, you were one of the people who tried to tell me that it was still officially legal to cancel Ring-bearer skirmishes in Fellowship Block. You tried to argue that the CR doesn't apply or support formats other than Standard or Expanded. I had to walk you through the rules to show you that this was not the case. And that is what matters: What the rules say, and what the cards say. Please try to stick to that. This notion of yours that conditions are only targeted at the front is not in the rules, and it's not on the cards.

Sgt, (for clarity's sake) are suggesting that if I use secret sentinels to discard 2 conditions I can target the same condition 2x instead of targeting two condition once?

Ordinarily, no. But it depends on what happens while you're taking the action. If there is only one condition on the table, and Secret Sentinels allows you to discard two conditions, and your opponent takes a response action that prevents that one condition from being discarded once, then once that response action has resolved, the effect of your original action continues. That original effect was "discard two conditions," and what do you know, you can still see a condition on the table that has not been discarded yet.

I think Decipher would have spelled that out clearly in their rules if that were the case.

If Decipher had intended that conditions to be discarded could only be targeted at the start of the action, and at no other point during the action, THAT is what they would have spelled out clearly in their rules. They didn't. Nor in any other related ruling that I've been able to find. On the contrary, the official rules do not break down these actions into any subsections or steps. An action that discards multiple conditions at once conceptually occurs all at once, and that includes targeting and discarding. The cards are selected and discarded one at a time simply for the sake of expediency. The part of such an action that occurs before a response action is taken, is no different than the part of the action that resumes after a response action is taken. It's all one action, and if there are still viable targets on the table to discard, and an effect that says to discard more cards, then the action resumes doing precisely that. Obviously I can't keep discarding conditions if there are no conditions left on the table, but in this case, when earlier discards were prevented via response actions, conditions remain... and the CR says the effect should be carried out to the fullest extent possible.

Again, Kudos for thinking outside the box, but methinks you're incorrect on this one. No, I don't have a rule which I can cite to back up my claim, but I do not interpret the ruling you cited the same as you. 

I would be interested to hear your interpretation of the ruling I cited. Show me how it is possible to interpret it differently.

So unless you can convince the entire community we've been playing LOTR wrong for the last 10 years (during which time Decipher had plenty of time and tournaments to correct such an error), I don't see anyone caving on this.

People will do what they want to do, I have no illusions about that. But if it was really as clear-cut as you think, that the "entire community" has been playing this way for 10 years, then why did TheJord say differently?
"I would have followed you, my brother... my captain... my king." - Boromir

January 01, 2013, 01:45:09 PM
Reply #71

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #71 on: January 01, 2013, 01:45:09 PM »
You keep asking for rules documents to back up our side. Well, where does it say in the rules that you can choose the condition again if Deceit saves it? It makes much more sense with my interpretation, and since that's how Gemp does it, and no one other than you has a problem with it, you are the one who is required to cite sources, not me.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

January 01, 2013, 08:07:13 PM
Reply #72

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #72 on: January 01, 2013, 08:07:13 PM »
I think I figured out where you're coming from, sgt.

You are treating condition discarding like archery fire: you have X scheduled discards, and you keep going until X runs out or all available conditions are gone. The problem is, there is nothing in the rules to back up your claim. In all instances of choosing X cards to be affected by Y effect, you choose all of them at once, and then they receive their effect.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

January 01, 2013, 08:24:14 PM
Reply #73

Shelobplayer

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 479
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #73 on: January 01, 2013, 08:24:14 PM »
Sgt:
I don't understand why you think that the fact that some effect has multiple targets changes that you have to declare those target(S) the time you play that effect... I think your confusion is coming from Boromir, BoC + Armor/ Ring of Rings ruling, which is a different case.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2013, 08:26:53 PM by Shelobplayer »

January 02, 2013, 12:13:26 AM
Reply #74

Zurcamos

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Global Mod
  • Posts: 124
Re: What are some anti-Gollum strategies?
« Reply #74 on: January 02, 2013, 12:13:26 AM »
Bib, you were one of the people who tried to tell me that it was still officially legal to cancel Ring-bearer skirmishes in Fellowship Block. You tried to argue that the CR doesn't apply or support formats other than Standard or Expanded. I had to walk you through the rules to show you that this was not the case. And that is what matters: What the rules say, and what the cards say.
No one, not even Decipher, has the right to change the way the game was played in the past.  What "Fellowship Block" means is playing the game as it was played when the first three sets were the standard environment.  If Decipher released a CR today (and technically they could) saying that the only legal ring-bearer is Bearer of Council, and now you can cancel his skirmishes, would I follow it?  Absolutely not.  Would you?