LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question  (Read 4216 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

March 18, 2013, 01:18:48 PM
Read 4216 times

admiral_jones

  • Information Offline
  • Neekerbreeker
  • Posts: 3
The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
« on: March 18, 2013, 01:18:48 PM »
Hello,

If the Witch King Lord of Nazgul wins a skirmish and does his effect that exerts him to wound the ring-bearer twice, with the ruling ring am I allowed to put the ring on, even if Frodo was not assigned to any skirmish so I could take two burdens, or must I take two wounds in this instance? The ring reads "each time bearer is about to take a wound during a skirmish, add a burden instead" does this only apply to when he is skirmishing? If so, then if the Witch King is made fierce by a Fell Beast, all the shadow player would have to do (assuming he wins both skirmishes) is exert the Witch King after both skirmishes, and he would give Frodo four wounds, which would kill him. It just doesn't seem quite fair, four burdens is bad enough.

March 18, 2013, 01:41:47 PM
Reply #1

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 01:41:47 PM »
Pretty sure you can use the ring... but when you put it on, watch out!

March 18, 2013, 03:08:27 PM
Reply #2

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2013, 03:08:27 PM »
Yes, you can put on the ring.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

March 18, 2013, 04:23:34 PM
Reply #3

Zurcamos

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Global Mod
  • Posts: 124
Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2013, 04:23:34 PM »
Comprehensive Rules, Version 3.0 (page 38):
Quote
The One Ring, The Ruling Ring
You may use the special ability of this card in response to a wound placed by The Witch-king, Lord of the Nazgul or Ulaire Enquea, Ringwraith in Twilight.

Isildur's Bane and Answer to All Riddles can do the same, but Such a Weight to Carry or The Binding Ring, especially on an alternate ringbearer, are a welcome sight for a Twilight Nazzie player.

March 18, 2013, 09:55:08 PM
Reply #4

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2013, 09:55:08 PM »
Comprehensive Rules, Version 3.0 (page 38):
Quote
The One Ring, The Ruling Ring
You may use the special ability of this card in response to a wound placed by The Witch-king, Lord of the Nazgul or Ulaire Enquea, Ringwraith in Twilight.

Isildur's Bane and Answer to All Riddles can do the same, but Such a Weight to Carry or The Binding Ring, especially on an alternate ringbearer, are a welcome sight for a Twilight Nazzie player.

For ATAR you'll have to have put it on first. It's not a Response: like the ruling ring.

March 18, 2013, 11:42:44 PM
Reply #5

Zurcamos

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Global Mod
  • Posts: 124
Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2013, 11:42:44 PM »
For ATAR you'll have to have put it on first. It's not a Response: like the ruling ring.

Good point.  Fortunately, you always have the opportunity to do so (in this example).  Unfortunately, it's not incredibly difficult to pass without thinking.

March 19, 2013, 01:34:32 PM
Reply #6

gofatas2013

  • Information Offline
  • Neekerbreeker
  • Posts: 2
Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2013, 01:34:32 PM »
Whith that version of the one ring of course, you should be more caution with other versions of the one ring

March 20, 2013, 05:02:46 PM
Reply #7

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2013, 05:02:46 PM »
But when you DO put on the ATAR, it gives your opponent the Skirmish action they need to play Wraith-World... ;)

March 30, 2013, 05:52:42 AM
Reply #8

gofatas

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 27
Re: The Witch King Lord of Nazgul Question
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2013, 05:52:42 AM »
You can use it for sure