LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: One Good Turn Deserves Another  (Read 2284 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

April 13, 2013, 02:47:56 PM
Read 2284 times

Legion

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 343
One Good Turn Deserves Another
« on: April 13, 2013, 02:47:56 PM »
I dislike decks that focus on total site-path control, so I want to ask a question about One Good Turn Deserves Another.  This may be clutching at straws, but suppose this is the card you pull using Dammed Gate Stream.  Can you add the burden to take it back into hand, if it's never been your hand?  It came from your deck, so when you add the burden as the cost, but cannot do the effect, surely that effect must be ignored?

I guess it comes down to the subtlety of the wording, and I'll admit I'm biassed as to how I want this to go, but I do think it's not so clear cut.

April 13, 2013, 05:35:52 PM
Reply #1

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: One Good Turn Deserves Another
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2013, 05:35:52 PM »
Yes you can take it into hand.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

April 13, 2013, 05:54:26 PM
Reply #2

sgtdraino

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1041
  • Ranger of Ecthelion
    • Facebook
Re: One Good Turn Deserves Another
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2013, 05:54:26 PM »
I feel your pain, man. Hopefully this will offer you some help:

http://lotrtcgwiki.com/forums/index.php/topic,8278.0.html
"I would have followed you, my brother... my captain... my king." - Boromir

April 14, 2013, 07:28:48 AM
Reply #3

Legion

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 343
Re: One Good Turn Deserves Another
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2013, 07:28:48 AM »
I just feel the wording of the card is a little funny.  There is no need for the word "back" as if the card said "You may add a burden to take this card into hand," it would still make sense (and then I'd have to agree that this ability could be used with Dammed Gate Stream).  However, we have that annoying word "back."  I guess this is going to have to go by popular opinion, as it is a linguistic subtlety, not anything in the rules (unless someone knows about about some clarification made by Decipher!).

When Gandalf said to the Balrog '"Go back to the shadows from whence you came!"' suppose that the Balrog had never been in the shadows.  It'd have been perfectly in its right to point out to Gandalf that it couldn't do it, humiliating its opponent and probably putting Gandalf totally off guard before their fight.