LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Saruman, Of Many Colours  (Read 4101 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

September 24, 2008, 08:12:21 AM
Read 4101 times

OneFathom

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 407
Saruman, Of Many Colours
« on: September 24, 2008, 08:12:21 AM »
The game text of Saruman, Of Many Colours does not specify WHEN the strength modifier ends.  Are we supposed to assume it is until the start of the regroup phase or only when Saruman is on the field?  Can someone clarify?

Thanks.

September 24, 2008, 09:30:12 AM
Reply #1

SomeRandomDude

  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 7004
  • Most Likely To Usurp Kralik and Dáin
    • My Wordpress
Re: Saruman, Of Many Colours
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2008, 09:30:12 AM »
Only while he's on the field. Once a card is gone, its effect isn't there anymore (this isn't MtG, in LotR, effects ARE directly linked to the card).
NB- 4 year veteran of CC/TLHH

"It was like:
Kralik: "What hath God wrought"
NB: "I dunno, but I'm in ur house eating ur food.""
-Elessar's Socks

Trade List- ft. Aragorn, Defender of Rohan

September 24, 2008, 01:19:18 PM
Reply #2

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Saruman, Of Many Colours
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2008, 01:19:18 PM »
It ends only when the source of it disappears. While Saruman is on the table, his text is active and therefore the strength modifier applies. If Saruman died, his text would no longer be active and therefore the modifier disappears.

Thranduil

September 24, 2008, 01:20:24 PM
Reply #3

SomeRandomDude

  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 7004
  • Most Likely To Usurp Kralik and Dáin
    • My Wordpress
Re: Saruman, Of Many Colours
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2008, 01:20:24 PM »
It ends only when the source of it disappears. While Saruman is on the table, his text is active and therefore the strength modifier applies. If Saruman died, his text would no longer be active and therefore the modifier disappears.

Thranduil

That.
NB- 4 year veteran of CC/TLHH

"It was like:
Kralik: "What hath God wrought"
NB: "I dunno, but I'm in ur house eating ur food.""
-Elessar's Socks

Trade List- ft. Aragorn, Defender of Rohan

September 24, 2008, 01:32:05 PM
Reply #4

King89

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 322
  • your master.
    • nine-walkers 2.0 german
Re: Saruman, Of Many Colours
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2008, 01:32:05 PM »
..effects ARE directly linked to the card).

it depends on how the card clarified it's owen game text. if you take e.g. "radagast, the brown", the move limit is +1 until the end of the fellowship player's turn. (until he or she reconcycles) independent his will be killed in ths round or not. if radagst dies in the same round when he was played you could also play an other copy of him in regroup phase with "sent back" to make the move limit +2 and so on...

but back to topic: sure you are right ;)


September 24, 2008, 01:45:26 PM
Reply #5

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Saruman, Of Many Colours
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2008, 01:45:26 PM »
Move limit is the only game mechanic that remains affected, regardless of whether the effect ceases to be active.

Just think of Saruman, Of Many Colours as a minion version of the site Doors of Durin
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"