LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Red Book of Westmarch  (Read 2862 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

August 08, 2014, 11:20:24 AM
Read 2862 times

BigRedMF

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 114
Red Book of Westmarch
« on: August 08, 2014, 11:20:24 AM »
I am wondering why (on Gemp) the Red Book of Westmarch lets you draw a card when it is played? Seems to me almost like saying you could spot Elrond when you play him to satisfy the requirement of spotting an Elf to play. Red Book has to be played before its game text is active, right?

August 08, 2014, 02:51:18 PM
Reply #1

sgtdraino

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1041
  • Ranger of Ecthelion
    • Facebook
Re: Red Book of Westmarch
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2014, 02:51:18 PM »
Not sure, but the way it works is consistent with the way Gladden Homestead works: When you play Gladden Homestead, you add tokens for how many Gollum cards you can spot. It also spots itself for a token, even though you just played it.
"I would have followed you, my brother... my captain... my king." - Boromir

August 08, 2014, 04:27:55 PM
Reply #2

BigRedMF

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 114
Re: Red Book of Westmarch
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2014, 04:27:55 PM »
The wording on Gladden Homestead is slightly different. It says "When you play this, add a token for each Gollum card you can spot." You actually play the card first, then follow the "When you play this" action, so it is already in play for spotting purposes. It doesn't seem the same to me as Red Book.

August 08, 2014, 11:56:02 PM
Reply #3

Zurcamos

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Global Mod
  • Posts: 124
Re: Red Book of Westmarch
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2014, 11:56:02 PM »
I see nothing wrong with the sgt's example.  There's a difference between "when" and "each time," but the difference involves quantity, not function.  In this situation, both phrases would work the same way.  In other words, "Each time you play a tale" on a tale is the same as "When you play this" at the moment they are played.

I get what you're saying though.  I went through the same thinking process when it first happened for me on Gemp.  I won't speak for you, but I was trying to apply MTG constructs to LotR, which rarely works.

August 09, 2014, 05:41:32 AM
Reply #4

BigRedMF

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 114
Re: Red Book of Westmarch
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2014, 05:41:32 AM »
After reading the CRD for "playing a card", I see why you draw a card. It doesn't follow my logic but follows their rules...most likely like you said, due to playing MtG.