The reason isn't that I don't want to add the token to
My Axe Is Notched. It's because the action is required, it must take place before optional actions.
Example 1: If Gimli wins a skirmish, and I used an optional action to play
My Axe Is Notched, I would not be able to add the token because we've passed the point where required actions can trigger. If adding the token to
My Axe Is Notched was optional, I would be able to add the token after I play it.
Example 2: If Gimli wins a skirmish, and I used an optional action to play
Stout and Strong, I would be able to add the token because the optional action of adding the token to
Stout and Strong can still trigger.
Unless anyone knows if there is a rule that says if a card with a required action comes into play as a result of a optional action, you perform the required action on the just played card first, then resume with optional actions?