LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: My Axe Is Notched  (Read 2876 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

October 11, 2011, 06:24:23 PM
Read 2876 times

Tbiesty

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
My Axe Is Notched
« on: October 11, 2011, 06:24:23 PM »
Based on the wording of My Axe Is Notched, it seems like the adding the [Dwarven] token is a required action when Gimli wins a skirmish.  That seems strange since for Final Count, Stout and Strong, and Strength of Arms, adding a token when a character wins a skirmish is optional.

Just curious if anyone knew if there was a clarification somewhere that says that adding the [Dwarven] token on My Axe Is Notched was optional.

October 11, 2011, 09:36:19 PM
Reply #1

rubbercarp

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Villager
  • Posts: 276
    • www.ccg-singles.com
Re: My Axe Is Notched
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2011, 09:36:19 PM »
Good eye.
Yeah it is odd that there is a discrepancy between that and Final Count.

Is there any reason you can think of that you wouldn't want to add a token?
I guess in the later sets there there shadow cards that keyed off spotting tokens... weren't there?
All of my extra Lord of the Rings TCG, MECCG, SWCCG, and WoW TCG singles are available for sale on my website: http://www.ccg-singles.com

October 12, 2011, 04:48:55 AM
Reply #2

Tbiesty

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: My Axe Is Notched
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2011, 04:48:55 AM »
The reason isn't that I don't want to add the token to My Axe Is Notched.  It's because the action is required, it must take place before optional actions. 

Example 1: If Gimli wins a skirmish, and I used an optional action to play My Axe Is Notched, I would not be able to add the token because we've passed the point where required actions can trigger.  If adding the token to My Axe Is Notched was optional, I would be able to add the token after I play it.

Example 2: If Gimli wins a skirmish, and I used an optional action to play Stout and Strong, I would be able to add the token because the optional action of adding the token to Stout and Strong can still trigger.

Unless anyone knows if there is a rule that says if a card with a required action comes into play as a result of a optional action, you perform the required action on the just played card first, then resume with optional actions?


October 12, 2011, 07:08:38 AM
Reply #3

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: My Axe Is Notched
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2011, 07:08:38 AM »
An odd situation. If you can get My Axe Is Notched into play (Memories of Darkness?) before the "wins a skirmish" situation is over, I think MAIN can respond and would take priority over optional actions responding to that trigger. My reasoning is that you are returned to "All required actions responding to a particular trigger are performed before any optional actions."

For example, if you have MoD in play and four cards in hand (including MAIN and, say, Nobody Tosses a Dwarf):

- Gimli wins a skirmish
-- Op. action: Play NTaD (but don't perform effects yet)
--- Respond to losing initiative (step 5 of "playing a card") with MoD by playing MAIN
--- Perform effects of NTaD
-- Req. action: Perform effects of MAIN

October 12, 2011, 09:31:27 AM
Reply #4

Tbiesty

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: My Axe Is Notched
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2011, 09:31:27 AM »
I'm cool with that reasoning.

So, if a card with a required action comes into play as a result of a optional action for the same trigger, you perform the required action on the newly played card first, then resume with any other optional actions for the trigger.

I just wanted to verify that "All required actions responding to a particular trigger are performed before any optional actions." doesn't mean that once optional actions are performed that you are not allowed to perform a required action if the card with the required action just came into play.

Works for me!