LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Radagast ruling. HELP!  (Read 5656 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

July 13, 2011, 07:34:55 AM
Read 5656 times

cungalunga

  • Information Offline
  • Neekerbreeker
  • Posts: 3
Radagast ruling. HELP!
« on: July 13, 2011, 07:34:55 AM »
I played a game later today on gccg. It was a nice game, my opponent was Manwe i belive. Well he rushed me to site 8 I was at 6. My fellowhip turn starts.

This is the situtation. I play Gandalf and Radagast. My move limit is +1. I move on 7 I kill Radagst. Move to 8, then at regrop I want to move again to 9. Manwe objects saying it is illegal. Who is right?

My arguament rule wise are not strong. But by that ruling I played in real life on many official decipher tournaments.

So if anyone with good rule knowledge can help to clarify please.

July 13, 2011, 07:36:27 AM
Reply #1

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Radagast ruling. HELP!
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2011, 07:36:27 AM »
Once a move limit is modified, it lasts the entire turn.
-wtk

July 13, 2011, 07:42:42 AM
Reply #2

cungalunga

  • Information Offline
  • Neekerbreeker
  • Posts: 3
Re: Radagast ruling. HELP!
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2011, 07:42:42 AM »
Yea. I thought so as well. Manwe had a pretty nice laugh at me, even said I didn't know the basics of the game. ;D
I was quite sure I was right, but didn't know to explain my position. Haven't played a lot :(.

Thanks.

July 13, 2011, 08:20:44 AM
Reply #3

Gartax

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 104
Re: Radagast ruling. HELP!
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2011, 08:20:44 AM »
The move limit is a standing effect.

Radagash text says "The move limit is +1"

Your turn start, you play radagash making the move limit +1 . The standing effect is changed for the rest of the turn.

If you had to spot radagash his text  would have been " while you can spot Radagash, the move limit is +1"

But it is not the case.

July 13, 2011, 08:42:30 AM
Reply #4

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Radagast ruling. HELP!
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2011, 08:42:30 AM »
Copying the rule: "If the move limit is modified for a turn, then that modification is in effect for the whole turn, even if the conditions for the modification change."

If you had to spot radagash his text  would have been " while you can spot Radagash, the move limit is +1"
In this situation, the move limit would be unchanged even if Radagast is killed that turn.

July 13, 2011, 09:15:53 AM
Reply #5

gk1964

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 35
Re: Radagast ruling. HELP!
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2011, 09:15:53 AM »
If you are correct then does the second part of Radagast's text  (below) also apply?

"Each time the fellowship moves during the regroup phase, each opponent may discard 2 cards to draw 2 cards. "

Why would the card say while you can spot Radagast the turn limit is +1 when the text is on Radagast in the first place?

I can see why you quote the rules about modifying the move limit but for some reason I cannot explain I don't think that the intent was that Radagast could be killed off and still modify that turn's move limit.


July 13, 2011, 09:18:06 AM
Reply #6

Doom

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 150
  • Master of Doom, by Doom mastered. (AKA doomkitty)
Re: Radagast ruling. HELP!
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2011, 09:18:06 AM »
The move limit is in a sense "permanently modified". (See rule above). It doesn't say "while you can spot". And the second part doesn't apply because it requires you to actually spot radagast. It isn't a lasting effect.

July 13, 2011, 09:26:33 AM
Reply #7

gk1964

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 35
Re: Radagast ruling. HELP!
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2011, 09:26:33 AM »
What I am saying is that the way it states the move limit is +1 is no different from the second part of the card.

I understand the point being made about the rulebook I just don't think that Radagast should be able to increase the turn limit when in the dead pile while the Shadow player doesn't get his side of the deal so to speak.

I would have to agree with Manwe's objection on this one even though the general consensus goes against me.

July 13, 2011, 10:03:19 AM
Reply #8

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Radagast ruling. HELP!
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2011, 10:03:19 AM »
The consensus, and the rules of the game, go against you.
-wtk

July 13, 2011, 09:25:20 PM
Reply #9

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Re: Radagast ruling. HELP!
« Reply #9 on: July 13, 2011, 09:25:20 PM »
Radagash text says "The move limit is +1"

and also... Radagast.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2011, 04:48:55 AM by macheteman »

July 13, 2011, 11:35:00 PM
Reply #10

gk1964

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 35
Re: Radagast ruling. HELP!
« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2011, 11:35:00 PM »
I have acknowledged that the rulebook enforces Radagast's text as permanent for the turn.

I am merely stating that I think that Manwe's objection to the limit remaining at +1 when Radagast was dead was one I empathised with.




July 14, 2011, 03:28:56 AM
Reply #11

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Radagast ruling. HELP!
« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2011, 03:28:56 AM »
Here's an even better one. If you played Radagast, the Brown, used Saved From the Fire and iced him, then played him again with Sent Back, the move limit for that turn would be +2. In theory, you could kill him and use Sent Back as many times as you had copies to increase the move limit even more.
-wtk

July 14, 2011, 04:50:06 AM
Reply #12

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Re: Radagast ruling. HELP!
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2011, 04:50:06 AM »
Here's an even better one. If you played Radagast, the Brown, used Saved From the Fire and iced him, then played him again with Sent Back, the move limit for that turn would be +2. In theory, you could kill him and use Sent Back as many times as you had copies to increase the move limit even more.
-wtk

i had a deck that could do that. one time i won whilst my opponent was still at site 3.