LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Reviving My Cards  (Read 2747 times)

April 13, 2018, 05:38:58 PM
Read 2747 times

Phallen Cassidy

• Information Offline
  • Bowman
Reviving My Cards
« on: April 13, 2018, 05:38:58 PM »
Hello all,

It's been about 4 years since the last reset to the "My Cards" collection. That's also right around when I started playing, so many of you know far more about that than I do. A lot of things ensued, but for the past several years the personal collections have been neglected entirely. At this point, because nobody is able to use My Cards, it seems to reason that everyone would gain from a reset (though it could be argued that some would lose more than others). Trouble is - to what end? Either peoples collections will fill up to the point where it's the same as casual play or unwanted resets take away any progress.

Having lived in the first reality, this is not the way My Cards should be. There need to be resets, but I know many people were very frustrated with the second reality too. Is there a way to make resets wanted, or at least accepted? Well, an idea has struck me and I'm looking for some criticism.

Several games have a "seasonal ranked" structure. Players start the season on equal footing and compete until the end of the season. At that point, all players' ranks are evaluated and reset back to the baseline and players receive some sort of prize for how well they do (and potentially one for participation). The prizes are usually purely aesthetic, a symbol of prestige rather than an edge on the competition. There are a few main benefits that I see to this style.

• Everything is routine: players know the reset is coming from the start of the season, and there's a normalized schedule to how it all works.