LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand  (Read 4710 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

April 04, 2009, 12:47:39 PM
Read 4710 times

Bombadil

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 32
Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
« on: April 04, 2009, 12:47:39 PM »
If I use, for example, Gorgoroth Garrison (7C273), and discard an isengard orc from hand, can I stack that orc on Iron Fist of the Orc (6U64) (or any other of these isengard stacking cards)?
I know that when a card tells you to discard something it should be from play, but Im not sure if it is the same when a card is discarded. Last Days (12U71) and some more cards say "discarded from play"...

Thanks!

April 04, 2009, 12:52:23 PM
Reply #1

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2009, 12:52:23 PM »
All the [Isengard] stacking cards say if discarded by a regroup action, and as you say the default meaning is always from play.
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

April 04, 2009, 06:31:46 PM
Reply #2

GarrisonofGondor

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 622
  • Let the armies of Mordor know this....
Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2009, 06:31:46 PM »
 So in other words... NO [-X
"Never Again, will the land of my people, fall into enemy hands! For Gondor! For Gondor! For Gondor!

https://lotrtcgwiki.com/forums/index.php?topic=426.120

April 05, 2009, 02:19:33 AM
Reply #3

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2009, 02:19:33 AM »
The "from play" addition on some cards is probably for clarity.

April 05, 2009, 03:58:20 PM
Reply #4

Bombadil

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 32
Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2009, 03:58:20 PM »
 :( I was hoping I oculd use Larder + Scaffolding + Isengard Tender   :mrgreen:   [-X

Thanks for helping  :up:

April 05, 2009, 04:55:36 PM
Reply #5

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2009, 04:55:36 PM »
I don't see why you can't use that combo.

April 05, 2009, 06:07:34 PM
Reply #6

Bombadil

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 32
Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2009, 06:07:34 PM »
Because larder discards from hand, so I wouldnt be able to stack on scaffolding when using it...

April 05, 2009, 08:02:34 PM
Reply #7

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2009, 08:02:34 PM »
Where is it clarified that scaffolding only accepts minions from play?

April 05, 2009, 08:55:20 PM
Reply #8

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2009, 08:55:20 PM »
Here's the relevant section from the rulebook:

Quote
The default meaning of the word "discard" is "discard from play." Discarding from other locations (such as from your hand or from the top of your draw deck) is always specified.
Scaffolding doesn't specify a location, so it uses the default meaning. A similar example would be Plundered Armories responding only to [Moria] weapons discarded from play.

April 06, 2009, 05:38:30 AM
Reply #9

Vroengard

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 424
Re: Discarding Isengard orcs from hand
« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2009, 05:38:30 AM »
otherwise it would be a bit unfair, doesn't it?!