LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Simple Living  (Read 5593 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

June 15, 2009, 01:38:27 PM
Read 5593 times

ephen

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 93
Simple Living
« on: June 15, 2009, 01:38:27 PM »
Just wanted clear something up. I think this works but if I play The More the Merrier and exert 3 hobbits to pay the toil can I use Simple Living to Heal the hobbits I just exerted?

June 15, 2009, 01:51:37 PM
Reply #1

Elrohir

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 575
  • If you want him, come and claim him!
    • Elrohir wants some cards
Re: Simple Living
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2009, 01:51:37 PM »
I have a slightly different question: If I exert Legolas, bearing Legolas Bow, for Seclusion, may I heal him?

I think so. You need to exert the hobbits before playing the event - you are just paying the costs: the exertions in this case. If you did, you "play" the event afterward.
You gave away your life's grace. I cannot protect you anymore.

June 15, 2009, 01:54:35 PM
Reply #2

ephen

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 93
Re: Simple Living
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2009, 01:54:35 PM »
I not sure that you could heal legolas because his bow says "each time you exert him to play" and toil is exert "when you play". I'm not sure if toil counts as part of the cost or not.

June 15, 2009, 02:33:31 PM
Reply #3

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Simple Living
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2009, 02:33:31 PM »
Both the Simple Living and Legolas' Bow situations sound fine. For more fun with the Bow, play Elven Marksmanship in the fellowship phase, Seclusion in the maneuver phase, Nocked in the archery phase... :lol:

June 15, 2009, 02:43:38 PM
Reply #4

ephen

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 93
Re: Simple Living
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2009, 02:43:38 PM »
I'm still not sure, can't seem to find it in the rules but you're not exerting to play seclusion, you're exerting when playing it.

June 15, 2009, 02:48:55 PM
Reply #5

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: Simple Living
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2009, 02:48:55 PM »
If that was the case, then twilight would already have been added. Think of it this way: you declare that you are playing the card, and then, as you move to pay costs, you either add X twilight or you add Y twilight + Z exertions, each reducing the total cost by 2. So you ARE exerting the character TO play the card, WHEN you play it.

June 15, 2009, 03:11:42 PM
Reply #6

ephen

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 93
Re: Simple Living
« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2009, 03:11:42 PM »
To me it seems like the difference on Final Account and Ease the Burden, both from the same set but the wording is different, cause on one you exert TO play and the other you exert WHEN you play.

June 15, 2009, 04:11:46 PM
Reply #7

FingolfinFinwe

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 507
Re: Simple Living
« Reply #7 on: June 15, 2009, 04:11:46 PM »
This is how I see it:

1. You haven't played the event until you have paid the cost (twilight)

2. The Toil Exertions happen before the card is actually in play because they happen at the same time (or possibly before) you pay the cost (pay twilight).

Looking at it this way both the Legolas' bow and Simple Living ideas would work.

June 15, 2009, 04:56:01 PM
Reply #8

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Simple Living
« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2009, 04:56:01 PM »
To me it seems like the difference on Final Account and Ease the Burden, both from the same set but the wording is different, cause on one you exert TO play and the other you exert WHEN you play.
No, as far as cost/effect rules go, these two cards are the same. In both cases you can't play the card without paying the cost (exerting) and so in both cases you are "exerting to play the card". The Simple Living and Legolas' Bow cases with toil are fine: you do get to heal.

Thranduil

June 16, 2009, 08:45:16 AM
Reply #9

BattleWarg

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 626
Re: Simple Living
« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2009, 08:45:16 AM »
The main difference for Final Account is that it has multiple requirements to be played.

Effect-wise, this is what you're doing:

Add [1] and exert a [Gandalf] Wizard and discard 2 cards from hand to take a Free Peoples card and a Shadow card from your discard pile into hand.

But instead, we have extra space that allow us to use shortcuts to make it simpler.  The circle in the top left means "Add some amount of twilight", the 1 in that circle indicates the amount.  But it's still a little complicated, so we split up the requirements into 2 lines.

As for The More the Merrier, however, while you exert for Toil and heal with Simple Living, you could not remove burdens added by Lingering Shadow.  I'm pretty sure, at least...

June 16, 2009, 10:23:49 AM
Reply #10

FingolfinFinwe

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 507
Re: Simple Living
« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2009, 10:23:49 AM »
Lingering Shadow wouldn't come into play until after Simple Living's effect happened.  For each hobbit bearing a LS a burden would then be added. (pretty much making the whole thing pointless)

June 16, 2009, 10:38:50 AM
Reply #11

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Simple Living
« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2009, 10:38:50 AM »
As for The More the Merrier, however, while you exert for Toil and heal with Simple Living, you could not remove burdens added by Lingering Shadow.  I'm pretty sure, at least...
Why not? The Hobbits are healing with Simple Living, and that will trigger Lingering Shadow.

Thranduil

June 16, 2009, 01:13:11 PM
Reply #12

ephen

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 93
Re: Simple Living
« Reply #12 on: June 16, 2009, 01:13:11 PM »
I am confused because the toil definition in the rules seems confusing because it says you exert when you play the event, which makes it seem like the twilight would have already been added. Is legolas exerting to play seclusion or is he exerting to reduce its cost?

June 16, 2009, 01:19:41 PM
Reply #13

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Simple Living
« Reply #13 on: June 16, 2009, 01:19:41 PM »
I am confused because the toil definition in the rules seems confusing because it says you exert when you play the event, which makes it seem like the twilight would have already been added. Is legolas exerting to play seclusion or is he exerting to reduce its cost?
Read seclusion as one of 3 things:

1) "Add [3] and spot an Elf to discard a condition."
2) "Add [1], exert your [Elven] character and spot an Elf to discard a condition."
3) "Exert 2 of your [Elven] characters and spot an Elf to discard a condition."

So, exerting Legolas always falls into place as part of the cost to play the event, and so you can heal him.

Thranduil