LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: A top-down design  (Read 7496 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

June 29, 2009, 11:02:05 AM
Read 7496 times

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
A top-down design
« on: June 29, 2009, 11:02:05 AM »
I've been working on spells for one thing which naturally gets influenced by the Magic 2010 going on, and vice versa, and so I have a nice simple top-down card.

Living Rock [3](R)
Enchantment
[3](R): Target mountain becomes a 4/4 Gargoyle creature with flying and haste until the beginning of the end step. It's still a land.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2009, 02:54:40 PM by Thranduil »

June 30, 2009, 10:45:47 AM
Reply #1

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: A top-down design
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2009, 10:45:47 AM »
Unless it has haste as well, it sucks a million. ;) Even so it's still not very good.

June 30, 2009, 02:53:55 PM
Reply #2

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: A top-down design
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2009, 02:53:55 PM »
Unless it has haste as well, it sucks a million. ;) Even so it's still not very good.
It doesn't have summoning sickness though! But yeah it could be an enchantment.

Thranduil

July 01, 2009, 05:49:03 AM
Reply #3

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: A top-down design
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2009, 05:49:03 AM »
Creatures don't have "summoning sickness" anymore, we just call it that due to ol days. Now, a creature that didn't start the turn under your control can't attack or tap, unless it has haste. So you'd be only ceating a sacrificial fodder for some other effect, at most.

July 01, 2009, 05:51:39 AM
Reply #4

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: A top-down design
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2009, 05:51:39 AM »
Creatures don't have "summoning sickness" anymore, we just call it that due to ol days. Now, a creature that didn't start the turn under your control can't attack or tap, unless it has haste. So you'd be only ceating a sacrificial fodder for some other effect, at most.
Fair enough. What I assumed was the land had been under your control since the start of the turn, so it wouldn't be sick.

Thranduil

July 01, 2009, 09:43:05 AM
Reply #5

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: A top-down design
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2009, 09:43:05 AM »
Huh. Let me think about that for a little while.

November 16, 2009, 06:24:29 PM
Reply #6

Sete

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 77
  • Elessar
Re: A top-down design
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2009, 06:24:29 PM »
But if the land came to play in the beginning of the turn and you turn it into a creature, it's like making a creature come into play in that same turn. Either it has haste or it can't attack. Now, if you place a land that says: " Pay Y: target land becomes a X/X creature until the end of the turn" and you pick a land already in play from the turn before, you can go on and attack with it without needing the "haste" mechanic on it.

I found a good reply in the netz regarding the card Mutavault, which is something like that. You pay 2 and the land becomes a creature:


Quote
Mutavault is a land that can turn into a creature. It is treated as a land in that you may tap it for mana on your first turn, but if you activate it for it's creature abilities, the game recongnizes that the card "mutavault" just came into play during your turn and that "mutavault" is a creature, therefore has summoning sickness and cannot attack without haste, but may block and also be used for abilities of other creatures (example: tap 2 untapped creatures you control; effect). So the short answer is that if mutavault just came under your control, then yes, it needs haste to attack as a creature. If mutavault has been in play at least one turn under your control, then you may attack with it as normal.


My 2 cents on the talk. ^^

November 17, 2009, 02:13:47 AM
Reply #7

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: A top-down design
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2009, 02:13:47 AM »
Cool. Thanks Sete! :gp:

Thranduil

February 10, 2010, 11:26:48 AM
Reply #8

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: A top-down design
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2010, 11:26:48 AM »
Now THIS version is nice! Escalation!