LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Browbeat  (Read 6698 times)

June 16, 2008, 02:44:51 AM
Read 6698 times

TheJord

• League Director
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Browbeat
« on: June 16, 2008, 02:44:51 AM »
I am still learning magic, and Browbeat is the card I am struggling to understand at the moment. Can anyone explain its use to me?
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

June 16, 2008, 08:18:28 AM
Reply #1

FM

• Future Judge
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
Re: Browbeat
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2008, 08:18:28 AM »
It's fairly useful if you're playing monored burn decks, for instance (which means a monored deck filled only with cheap spells that deal damage to an opponent so that you drop him from 20 to 0 quickly). Browbeat gives you a way to either deal 5 to their dome for 3 mana (an awesome deal most of the time) or draw 3 cards (possibly drawing 3 burn spells, which might result in even more damage to their dome) with a red card, which is nothing to sneeze at.
Problem is, in possibly every other deck build, Browbeat will be subpar, because it fits in the category of cards like Dash Hopes: they give YOUR OPPONENT the choice of what's going to happen. They both seem like awesome cards, but most of the time, unless you're playing against a bad opponent, you'll get the worse option out of the two.

December 05, 2009, 02:28:48 PM
Reply #2

Witchkingx5

• Information Offline
  • Knight
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2009, 02:28:48 PM »
Yeah, it's more something like a, you know, win-win situation, but you have to hold your lands in your hand if you want him to draw you cards, cus' then he will think that you still have enough burn spells, but usually, in a Genju-16 or 14 lands burn you will drawcards that inflict more damage to your opponent than just 5.