LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: A Wizard Is Never Late & Barliman Butterbur  (Read 2765 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

November 30, 2009, 03:14:40 PM
Read 2765 times

Dr. Argon

  • Guest
A Wizard Is Never Late & Barliman Butterbur
« on: November 30, 2009, 03:14:40 PM »
Right now, I am constructing a Gandalf-based deck and I wonder if the following is possible:

Let's say you have A Wizard Is Never Late on your hand, but Gandalf is already in the fellowship. As the game text says, you may play  "a [Gandalf] character from your draw deck" during your fellowship phase, which means you could play allies as well. You search your draw deck for Barliman Butterbur, Prancing Pony Proprietor and play it. Then you use his game text "Fellowship: Exert Barliman Butterbur to take a [Gandalf] event into hand from your discard pile" and draw A Wizard Is Never Late again for getting another [Gandalf] ally on the table...?

November 30, 2009, 03:21:04 PM
Reply #1

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: A Wizard Is Never Late & Barliman Butterbur
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2009, 03:21:04 PM »
Yes, and this is quite a common play
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

November 30, 2009, 03:57:30 PM
Reply #2

Dr. Argon

  • Guest
Re: A Wizard Is Never Late & Barliman Butterbur
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2009, 03:57:30 PM »
Thanks, this was new to me. I might very well have more questions, I simply will put them in this thread so I don't spam the Archives of Minas Tirith :)

I used to play lotr tcg with two friends some years ago, when it was new in Germany. Since we went to colleges in different cities the game was put out of our focus, but we try to play it again around christmas.

btw: At the beginning, we always had some argues about Legolas, Greenleaf . I am pretty sure that, if you use his Archery: ability, that he does not add to the archery total, as the game text says. My friends would put it that way: If you use his special ability, shadow cards that decrease the fellowship archery total do not affect Legolas, so that he would still add 1 to the archery total. This may sound quite stupid to most of you, but I needed some arguing to convince them it doesn't work that way. :)

November 30, 2009, 04:05:55 PM
Reply #3

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: A Wizard Is Never Late & Barliman Butterbur
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2009, 04:05:55 PM »
Spam away, friend.

If you use Legolas, Greenleaf's text (or Aragorn's Bow, for that matter), they do not add to the archery total at all. So you cannot decrease their tallies, because their tallies are zero.
-wtk