LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Din of Arms  (Read 4538 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

December 04, 2009, 07:23:51 PM
Read 4538 times

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Din of Arms
« on: December 04, 2009, 07:23:51 PM »
I am wondering...

Let's say a besieger is stacked on a controlled site...

an Olog-Hai of Mordor is in play, and a din of arms has been successfully used in the manuever phase,

The Olog-Hai wins his skirmish and uses his text to play the stacked besieger...

Does that stacked besieger gain the plus 3 strength bonus from the din of arms that was played in the manuever phase?

I think he would because Din of Arms reads: All besiegers are strength plus 3 until the regroup phase...
(not all besiegers you can spot)

December 04, 2009, 07:46:13 PM
Reply #1

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Din of Arms
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2009, 07:46:13 PM »
No. Similar to Eregion's Trails...

It is a "flash" card. Take a picture of the gameboard. Each of those minions is +3.

Trails is similar. Each roaming minion at that point is strength -3. But if you make a minion roaming during the skirmish phase, they do not become strength -3 then.
-wtk
« Last Edit: December 04, 2009, 09:25:36 PM by ket_the_jet »

December 04, 2009, 08:14:56 PM
Reply #2

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Re: Din of Arms
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2009, 08:14:56 PM »
What rule does this fall under?

The way I read it is all besiegers are strength plus 3 till regroup... It doesn't say all besiegers you can spot or all all besiegers in play...


December 04, 2009, 09:24:56 PM
Reply #3

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Din of Arms
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2009, 09:24:56 PM »

December 04, 2009, 10:25:23 PM
Reply #4

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: Din of Arms
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2009, 10:25:23 PM »
ket_the_jet is right. :up:

December 05, 2009, 06:03:25 AM
Reply #5

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Din of Arms
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2009, 06:03:25 AM »
I think ket is right, but he is failing to answer MuadDib's main question: do the besiegers who are stacked count or not? I think since cards that are stacked cannot be spotted, don't count towards uniqueness, etc. that they don't get the boost. "In play" or "each besieger you can spot" is implied IMO.

December 06, 2009, 12:53:39 AM
Reply #6

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Din of Arms
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2009, 12:53:39 AM »
When the boost is applied (when Din of Arms is played), the besiegers are not in play therefore the "snapshot rule" that ket was talking about doesn't see them. So they do not get the boost.

Thranduil

December 06, 2009, 08:36:39 AM
Reply #7

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Din of Arms
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2009, 08:36:39 AM »
OK, so this is indirectly related in my mind (as far as which cards count or are spotted in various cases):

Do Poisonous Words or So Fair, So Desperate count themselves?

December 06, 2009, 08:43:02 AM
Reply #8

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Din of Arms
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2009, 08:43:02 AM »
I'd say no. Events can be played (that summary in the CRD), but they don't go "in play"--events can never be spotted.

December 06, 2009, 08:44:52 AM
Reply #9

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Din of Arms
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2009, 08:44:52 AM »
I'd say no. Events can be played (that summary in the CRD), but they don't go "in play"--events can never be spotted.

Straight from the CRD!

As a further explanation, the snapshot rule "memorizes" the state of the game with the cards that are in play. Since events are never "in play" and rather, are "played" they do not count.

Also, cards that are stacked are not considered "in play" although they can be spotted if a card specifically says: Troop Tower and Battle Tested come to mind.
-wtk
« Last Edit: December 06, 2009, 08:47:07 AM by ket_the_jet »

December 06, 2009, 08:52:51 AM
Reply #10

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Din of Arms
« Reply #10 on: December 06, 2009, 08:52:51 AM »
I'd say no. Events can be played (that summary in the CRD), but they don't go "in play"--events can never be spotted.
This is correct.

Thranduil

December 06, 2009, 09:03:25 AM
Reply #11

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Din of Arms
« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2009, 09:03:25 AM »
That's what I suspected. I butted in on a Standard game the other day and one player used Poisonous Words, spotting both stacked [Men] possessions and the card itself. When I pointed this out, he was none too happy and proceeded to play the way he wanted, ignoring me. :P