LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Crashed Gates  (Read 10116 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

December 21, 2009, 08:22:17 PM
Read 10116 times

Cw0rk

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1379
  • .
Crashed Gates
« on: December 21, 2009, 08:22:17 PM »
Can I choose to let my opponent take a site at Crashed Gate even if sites 1 to 4 are already controlled?

The keywords here are 'must', 'choose' and 'may'. I could always 'choose' to make him pick a site, but what is the sense of the word 'may' in the text.

Does it mean he can take one if he wants to? Or does it mean I can only choose to give him a site if he can take one?
« Last Edit: December 21, 2009, 11:20:47 PM by TheJord »

December 21, 2009, 11:27:15 PM
Reply #1

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2009, 11:27:15 PM »
I think it essentially means, if the FP player does not add 3 threats, they have to let the Shadow player take a site.

This is somewhat unusual, as with the Morgul Brute example in the CRD, both outcomes can always take place. In your example you may find yourself in a situation where you
a) cannot add anymore threats
b) cannot give the opponent a site

What to do in this situation...I'm not 100% sure

I assume you do all you can, then continue on
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

December 22, 2009, 01:21:12 AM
Reply #2

chompers

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2009, 01:21:12 AM »
My take on it is you must add 3 threats (not 2, not 1 and definately not none) - if you can't add 3 move to plan B ....

Your opponent may control a site - assuming they want to or that they can (assuming every site in play is already controlled).

If plan B doesn't happen or cannot happen - then your done. Move on to next action ....

The 'choose' keyword is only important for multiplayer games.

So going back to the orignal question - I would say yes you can choose opponent to control a site when it is impossible for them to do so, but only if you cannot add 3 threats.

« Last Edit: December 22, 2009, 01:26:00 AM by chompers »

December 22, 2009, 09:05:22 AM
Reply #3

Cw0rk

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1379
  • .
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2009, 09:05:22 AM »
Do everyone agree with chompers?

December 22, 2009, 09:26:04 AM
Reply #4

HawkeyeSPF

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 639
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2009, 09:26:04 AM »
I have to disagree - I see it as "The FP player must do one of the following: Add 3 threats OR choose an opponent who may take control of a site." I think that's the way I remember it being played anyway.

December 22, 2009, 09:37:28 AM
Reply #5

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2009, 09:37:28 AM »
As I read it, the FP player needs to either add 3 threats or select an opponent who is capable of controlling a site, and this opponent is then allowed to take control of a site. The FP player must choose an action that can be fully performed.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2009, 12:22:22 PM by Elessar's Socks »

December 22, 2009, 09:42:58 AM
Reply #6

HawkeyeSPF

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 639
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2009, 09:42:58 AM »
As I read it, the FP player needs to either add 3 threats or select an opponent who is capable of controlling a site, and this opponent is then allowed to take control of a site. The FP player must choose AN action that can be fully performed.

I would agree with you if we made this change.

December 22, 2009, 12:21:56 PM
Reply #7

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2009, 12:21:56 PM »
Then it shall be done!

Times like this I wish the Decipher forums were still up, because I could've sworn Crashed Gate made its rounds there.

December 22, 2009, 12:40:47 PM
Reply #8

chompers

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2009, 12:40:47 PM »
I am confused - and certainly do not see myself as a rules expert - but if you play it any other way than what I originally suggested then the wording on the card should IMO be:

The free peoples player may add three threats or choose an opponent who may take control of a site.

The must keyword seems pretty powerful. I guess I can see the other side of the argument but am having trouble sitting on that side of the fence.

Are there other examples of the use of the 'must' keyword used together with threats? The Morgul Brute example above uses may, and with burdens.

December 22, 2009, 01:08:58 PM
Reply #9

chompers

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2009, 01:08:58 PM »
OK - i just checked out the must keyword - not in the rulebook - but i searched for similar cards and found Pelennor Flat

It says: At the start of the maneuver phase, the FP player must add a burden or discard 3 cards fron hand.

I read this as the must keyword meaning you must do one or the other (otherwise it is impossible to do part 2, because you can always add a burden otherwise you are corrupt and the game is over).

So ... the must keyword on Crashed Gates means do one OR the other, you choose (it does not mean you must add the 3 threats and if you cannot do part 2 as I suggested above).

December 22, 2009, 01:16:56 PM
Reply #10

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #10 on: December 22, 2009, 01:16:56 PM »
The question remains whether or not you can have an opponent take control of a site even if sites 1-4 are controlled. Personally, I interpret the card as allowing you to do so.
-wtk

December 22, 2009, 06:14:56 PM
Reply #11

Sam, Great Elf Warrior

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 303
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2009, 06:14:56 PM »
As I read it, the FP player needs to either add 3 threats or select an opponent who is capable of controlling a site, and this opponent is then allowed to take control of a site. The FP player must choose an action that can be fully performed.
The question then is whether the action is fully performed when the Free Peoples player chooses an opponent, or only when the Free Peoples player chooses and opponent AND that opponent has had the opportunity to take control of a site.

Note that while it's tempting to say that the opponent the Free Peoples player chooses must be "an opponent who may take control of a site[,]" it is clear from the context that the phrase "who may take control of a site" describes what the chosen opponent may do rather than explicitly limiting the choosable opponents to those "who may take control of a site."

The text itself seems to imply that the Free Peoples player only has to choose an opponent, and his/her work is done. However, the general import of the card seems to require that the the FP player add threats or let an opponent control a site, and the "choose" language is in place solely to address the situation where there are multiple Shadow players, while the "may" language is in place in case the chosen opponent doesn't wish to take control of the site.

Thus, while a literal reading of the text seems to allow the FP player to choose an opponent even if that opponent is unable to control a site, this seems to be a technicality at best. A tournament director could rule either way, although I think the interpretation that the opponent must be able to take control a site is probably the better one.

Ultimately, in friendly games, just get this agreed upon ahead of time (I don't think it matters which way), and in tournaments, you might want to ask the tournament director if you're worried it might come up.

December 22, 2009, 11:55:19 PM
Reply #12

legolas3333

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2152
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #12 on: December 22, 2009, 11:55:19 PM »
it must be a heck of a site-control deck to have every site up to crashed gates controlled...
« Last Edit: December 23, 2009, 12:14:07 PM by legolas3333 »
A Promo Saved is a Promo Earned

December 23, 2009, 12:23:50 AM
Reply #13

Cw0rk

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1379
  • .
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #13 on: December 23, 2009, 12:23:50 AM »
Very good interpretation Sam, but sadly your two last paragraphs don't solve the mystery.

December 23, 2009, 01:25:45 AM
Reply #14

chompers

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Crashed Gates
« Reply #14 on: December 23, 2009, 01:25:45 AM »
Is this a case of making it more complicated than it needs to be:

The FP must choose one of two things - add 3 threats or choose an opponent to control a site

Does it matter whether the action can be completed or not?

You can't say yes, because sometimes neither can be done - therefore it seems fair that the ability to complete the action is irrelevant.

Just my (current) take on it - be it right or wrong