LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4  (Read 7629 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

January 21, 2010, 03:04:27 AM
Read 7629 times

Marcoliboar

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 70
Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« on: January 21, 2010, 03:04:27 AM »
A question about Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4.

Rule of 4 says that you can not draw more that 4 cards in your fellowship phase, dose this applay to Saved From The Fire?

January 21, 2010, 04:24:57 AM
Reply #1

HawkeyeSPF

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 639
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2010, 04:24:57 AM »
The Rule of 4 states that you cannot take into hand from your draw deck more than 4 cards during your fellowship phase. SFtF tells you to place a companion in the dead pile to take into hand 3 cards of that companions culture.

So, yes, the Ro4 does apply to SFtF.

January 21, 2010, 05:23:27 AM
Reply #2

Smeagollum

  • Guest
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2010, 05:23:27 AM »
By the way the rule of 4 does not apply to start of the turn actions. So if you've got Gandalf the grey pilgrim, you take at the start of turn a card in hand from your draw dek and then in your fellowship you can still take 4 cards into hand from your draw deck.

What I'm not sure of is if the rule of 4 apply on Faramir, Defender of Osgiliath. It should not, because you play them, you take them not in hand.

January 21, 2010, 06:50:11 AM
Reply #3

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2010, 06:50:11 AM »
Concur, it does apply to Saved From the Fire.

Does NOT apply to the likes of Faramir, Defender of Osgiliath.

January 21, 2010, 07:42:30 AM
Reply #4

Smeagollum

  • Guest
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2010, 07:42:30 AM »
Concur, it does apply to Saved From the Fire.

Does NOT apply to the likes of Faramir, Defender of Osgiliath.

 Then same for:

A wizard is never late:
Game Text: Fellowship: Play a [Gandalf] character from your draw deck.


Eomer, Keeper of Oaths:
Game Text: Valiant. When you play Eomer (except in your starting fellowship), you may reveal the top 10 cards of your draw deck. You may play each [Rohan] possession revealed. Shuffle your draw deck.

And if you use a SFTF to burn a:

Theoden, Tall and Proud:
Game Text: Valiant. While you can spot a [Rohan] Man, Theoden's twilight cost is -1. When Theoden is killed, you may play a [Rohan] companion from your discard pile or draw deck.

You then may play a companion from your draw deck which will not fall under the rule of 4.

Further exception:

Merry, Horticulturalist
Practically Everyone Was Invited
Community Living
Last Days of My House
Gandalf, Returned
Boromir, Proud and Noble Man

You concur?
Simbelmyne

January 21, 2010, 08:30:56 AM
Reply #5

Marcoliboar

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 70
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2010, 08:30:56 AM »
tnx for the reply!

so Simbelmyne is also an exception :)

January 21, 2010, 08:43:53 AM
Reply #6

Smeagollum

  • Guest
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2010, 08:43:53 AM »
tnx for the reply!

so Simbelmyne is also an exception :)

According to me it is, because you play them directly from your drawdeck, you don't take them in hand.. But check what Kralik has to say about it.

January 21, 2010, 09:41:14 AM
Reply #7

legolas3333

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2152
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2010, 09:41:14 AM »
yes any card that specifies playing a card from your draw deck as opposed to taking it into hand does not count against the rule of 4 i.e Saved from the fire counts against the rule of four while Simbelmyne does not.
A Promo Saved is a Promo Earned

January 21, 2010, 10:59:24 AM
Reply #8

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2010, 10:59:24 AM »
You can use multiple Saved From the Fire in a turn...alas, the second copy would only allow you to take one card into hand.

Is the juice worth the squeeze?
-wtk

January 21, 2010, 11:54:25 AM
Reply #9

Smeagollum

  • Guest
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2010, 11:54:25 AM »
Actually you could do the following in a gandalf/rohan deck.

Start with Gandalf, LOM, and a rohan comp with 2 cost. First turn (if SFTF is in hand) burn down Gandalf and get send back, Gandalf TGP and a sftf. Then in 2nd turn burn the rohan comp and get 3x Simbelmyne. So in the first 2 turns you can get out at least 10 cards extra with at least 9 fellowship from your drawdeck. Which is great because you will have filter your deck fast. And if you use a simbelyne (use the other 2 to get 2 companions first) to play Eomer, koo then you'll have extra chance to get out fellowshipcards. Actually quite nice... now I think of it. I feel a deck comming up...


January 21, 2010, 12:04:24 PM
Reply #10

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2010, 12:04:24 PM »
In my foil Saved From the Fire deck I burn Elite Rider for Eowyn, Lady of Rohan (valiant) and two Simbelmyne.
-wtk

January 21, 2010, 12:39:32 PM
Reply #11

Smeagollum

  • Guest
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2010, 12:39:32 PM »
In my foil Saved From the Fire deck I burn Elite Rider for Eowyn, Lady of Rohan (valiant) and two Simbelmyne.
-wtk
But why not 3x simbelmyne and then get Eowyn, lor with it?

January 21, 2010, 01:34:27 PM
Reply #12

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2010, 01:34:27 PM »
You need to spot a valiant man to play Simbelmyne. If I draw Eowyn or another valiant companion with my opening draw, then you can bet I'm going to pull three Simbelmyne with Saved From the Fire.
-wtk

January 21, 2010, 01:38:30 PM
Reply #13

Smeagollum

  • Guest
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2010, 01:38:30 PM »
You need to spot a valiant man to play Simbelmyne. If I draw Eowyn or another valiant companion with my opening draw, then you can bet I'm going to pull three Simbelmyne with Saved From the Fire.
-wtk
Forgot that one! you're right!

January 21, 2010, 07:09:30 PM
Reply #14

5tein

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 102
Re: Saved From the Fire and the rule of 4
« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2010, 07:09:30 PM »
I dig all this Saved from the Fire business to filter out a lot of cards turn one.

I remember the days of "filtering" the Freeps, e.g. "Bad Beef", but also when Sauron Swarm was getting big. I think for Sauron Swarm I started Eowyn, Merry, Horticulturalist, Pippen, Smeagol. Plus 4 A Wizard is Never Late, 4 Symblemyne, standard Eomer TMotR with Gear, Gandalf and Allies, including Barliman Butterbur to replay AWiNL, etc. Basically trying to filter enough Freeps early game to saturate the deck with Shadow. Now I want to go into the deck builder and try to maximize that...