LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Two Quick Questions  (Read 4395 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

March 03, 2010, 01:41:57 PM
Read 4395 times

Alkarin

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 39
Two Quick Questions
« on: March 03, 2010, 01:41:57 PM »
Hi,

First, one nazgul is skirmishing and i have in play stooping to the kill.

If i play Unhindered, and my nazgul win the skirmish (gain initiative), the losing companion take one or two wounds?

Second, the card Saruman's Reach can be used Vs all versions of One ring?

Thanks!!

March 03, 2010, 02:13:09 PM
Reply #1

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Two Quick Questions
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2010, 02:13:09 PM »
As to the answer of your first question, if you use Unhindered, you will have the initiative for each subsequent skirmish. That is, Stooping to the Kill will not work for the damage bonus.

Saruman's Reach can be used against any version of The One Ring.
-wtk

March 03, 2010, 04:42:36 PM
Reply #2

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Two Quick Questions
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2010, 04:42:36 PM »
As to the answer of your first question, if you use Unhindered, you will have the initiative for each subsequent skirmish. That is, Stooping to the Kill will not work for the damage bonus.

Saruman's Reach can be used against any version of The One Ring.
-wtk
Echo.

Thranduil

March 03, 2010, 10:19:06 PM
Reply #3

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: Two Quick Questions
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2010, 10:19:06 PM »
ditto
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

March 04, 2010, 06:57:56 AM
Reply #4

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Two Quick Questions
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2010, 06:57:56 AM »
Ayup.

March 04, 2010, 08:35:58 AM
Reply #5

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Two Quick Questions
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2010, 08:35:58 AM »
1. Skirmish begins.
2. Skirmish actions.
3. Skirmish resolved and wounds placed (and overwhelmed characters discarded or put in the dead pile).
4. Skirmish ends.

This is the CRD explanation.

1. Skirmish begins.
2. Skirmish actions.
3. Skirmish resolved and wounds placed (and overwhelmed characters discarded or put in the dead pile).
                               /\                              /\
                                |                                \
                          Unhindered wins here     Wounds placed here
4. Skirmish ends.

I may be wrong, but I think this may have been the intention with Unhindered.
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

March 04, 2010, 08:47:55 AM
Reply #6

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Two Quick Questions
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2010, 08:47:55 AM »
C-c-c-combo breaker.

We have a disagreement.

I don't think that the Nazgul wins a skirmish until the skirmish is resolved, wounds are placed, overwhelmed characters are placed in the dead pile.
-wtk
« Last Edit: March 04, 2010, 08:51:04 AM by ket_the_jet »

March 04, 2010, 09:27:53 AM
Reply #7

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Two Quick Questions
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2010, 09:27:53 AM »
Quote from: skirmish phase(S)
If the total strength of one side is more than the strength of the other side (but less than double), the side with the most strength wins that skirmish. (If there is a tie, the Shadow side wins.) Place one wound on each character on the losing side. (See damage bonus, killed, overwhelmed.)
My first read is that Unhindered clears the win-before-the-wounds hurdle, but I'm not sure how the "if" timing is treated versus the required action of assigning wounds. Anyone know?

March 04, 2010, 02:09:39 PM
Reply #8

Elgar

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 103
Re: Two Quick Questions
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2010, 02:09:39 PM »
Here is the question:
Are wounds assigned as a trigger of losing the skirmish?  or are the assigned as a step (ie 1) who won, 2) assign wounds)?

If they are assigned as a trigger (they'd be manditory), the the FP decides which happens first: the wounds from losing or the trigger from stooping to kill.

If it is stepwise, then stooping to kills trigger hapens before assigning the wounds.

I don't think the rules are clear on this.  I'd prefer that wounds (or overwhelm) are triggeres of losing, but that's not rule at all.

March 04, 2010, 03:07:05 PM
Reply #9

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Two Quick Questions
« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2010, 03:07:05 PM »
1. Skirmish begins.
2. Skirmish actions.
3. Skirmish resolved and wounds placed (and overwhelmed characters discarded or put in the dead pile).
4. Skirmish ends.

This is the CRD explanation.

1. Skirmish begins.
2. Skirmish actions.
3. Skirmish resolved and wounds placed (and overwhelmed characters discarded or put in the dead pile).
                               /\                              /\
                                |                                \
                          Unhindered wins here     Wounds placed here
4. Skirmish ends.

I may be wrong, but I think this may have been the intention with Unhindered.
Is that a good enough reason though? Skirmishes being resolved and wounds placed happen during the same step. Why does the exact word order matter?

Are wounds a mandatory trigger for a skirmish being resolved? If so, Unhindered (which is also a mandatory trigger) happens in an order that the FP player chooses, doesn't it? In which case they can always choose the wounds to be taken before the Shadow player gains initiative.

Thranduil