LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Blood Runs Chill in Master Proudfoot  (Read 4373 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

April 09, 2010, 04:28:28 PM
Read 4373 times

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Blood Runs Chill in Master Proudfoot
« on: April 09, 2010, 04:28:28 PM »
Okay, two separate questions:

1)      If a FP player plays Blood Runs Chill, thus exerting a dwarf who is dmg + 5 and Shadow player has 1 minion in play,  2 conditions in play and 2 minions stacked on a site. Must he discard those minions stacked on a site?

2)   If a FP player has drawn 3 cards during the fellowship phase and uses Master Proudfoot text to reveal 3 cards and all 3 are  [Shire] cards. Does he choose 1 and discards the rest, or does he choose 1 and returns the rest to draw deck?

Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

April 09, 2010, 05:39:37 PM
Reply #1

Sam, Great Elf Warrior

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 303
Re: Blood Runs Chill in Master Proudfoot
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2010, 05:39:37 PM »
1) I'd say no, because stacked cards are not active. Nor could the Free Peoples player prevent the effects of Such a Little Thing by discarding two Free Peoples possessions from Ever My Heart Rises.

2) I'd say he discards them. The sentence has 2 steps:
 - First "Take all [Shire] cards revealed into hand." The Free Peoples player must perform as much of this effect as possible, taking one [Shire] card (presumably of his choice) into hand.
 - Second, "discard the rest." Discard all of the remaining cards (note that it doesn't say "discard all non- [Shire] cards").

April 09, 2010, 06:04:39 PM
Reply #2

putridbreath

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 156
Re: Blood Runs Chill in Master Proudfoot
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2010, 06:04:39 PM »
About our friend Mr. Proudfoot I'd say the wording implies you take all 3 [Shire] cads into hand and discard the rest (which would be zero). So you keep all three Shire cards you revealed. How does it imply you keep only one?

April 09, 2010, 06:10:23 PM
Reply #3

Sam, Great Elf Warrior

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 303
Re: Blood Runs Chill in Master Proudfoot
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2010, 06:10:23 PM »
About our friend Mr. Proudfoot I'd say the wording implies you take all 3 [Shire] cads into hand and discard the rest (which would be zero). So you keep all three Shire cards you revealed. How does it imply you keep only one?
The question assumes that the Free Peoples player has already taken 3 cards into hand, so the Rule of 4 will only allow him to take one more.

April 09, 2010, 06:35:37 PM
Reply #4

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Blood Runs Chill in Master Proudfoot
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2010, 06:35:37 PM »
For the first, my take is that stacked cards can't be discarded for BRC because stacked cards aren't in play (the default meaning of "discard" is "discard from play").

For the second, I'd treat "discard the rest" to apply to any revealed cards not taken into hand, too.

April 09, 2010, 07:06:43 PM
Reply #5

putridbreath

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 156
Re: Blood Runs Chill in Master Proudfoot
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2010, 07:06:43 PM »
About our friend Mr. Proudfoot I'd say the wording implies you take all 3 [Shire] cads into hand and discard the rest (which would be zero). So you keep all three Shire cards you revealed. How does it imply you keep only one?
The question assumes that the Free Peoples player has already taken 3 cards into hand, so the Rule of 4 will only allow him to take one more.
Sorry missed that bit :)

April 10, 2010, 09:39:03 AM
Reply #6

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Blood Runs Chill in Master Proudfoot
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2010, 09:39:03 AM »
Thank you all, especially Sam for his great explanation.
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)