LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: The Witch-king's Beast, Fell Creature (12U184)  (Read 2341 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

April 28, 2010, 07:14:34 AM
Read 2341 times

simplegarak

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 146
The Witch-king's Beast, Fell Creature (12U184)
« on: April 28, 2010, 07:14:34 AM »
I did a search but couldn't find any mention of this topic before.

Does anyone remember what the final ruling was on The Witch-king's Beast?

The largest question was: can you keep tacking on skirmish phases if you're still able to exert?

There is the phrase on the card "one additional assignment and skirmish phase", however the standard in the game is that cards have no "memory" and only work in a snap-shot like fashion. (I can't find yet that specific wording in the rules or CRD, but I remember it in relation to Deft in their Movements)

Actually, just found it in the rules on events: Some event cards affect only cards that are currently in play, even though their effects might seem to apply to cards played later in the same turn. These events take a "snapshot" of the current game state, and only those cards are affected.

The closest I can find also on this is the example under modifers:
Merry, Friend to Sam reads: "Skirmish: If Merry is not assigned to a skirmish, exert him twice to add his strength to another companion." If Merry's strength is changed later during a skirmish after you have used this ability, the amount already added to the other companion does not change.

And of course to make it even more confusing, the most important trigger word on the card is "after" instead of "each, when or while" which do have entries in the rulebook.

So what's the thought?  Does the card "remember" whether there has been additional skirmishes or not, or does it just care that skirmishes resolve and you can keep triggering it over and over?

April 28, 2010, 08:31:36 AM
Reply #1

Elgar

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 103
Re: The Witch-king's Beast, Fell Creature (12U184)
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2010, 08:31:36 AM »
I believe it was ruled that you could use it over and over as long as you could pay the cost.

April 28, 2010, 08:37:46 AM
Reply #2

simplegarak

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 146
Re: The Witch-king's Beast, Fell Creature (12U184)
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2010, 08:37:46 AM »
I believe it was ruled that you could use it over and over as long as you could pay the cost.

Elgar!  I remember you from the Decipher boards (assuming you are, in fact, the same Elgar).