LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Followers, aid, transfering etc..  (Read 20573 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

June 28, 2010, 04:37:04 AM
Read 20573 times

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« on: June 28, 2010, 04:37:04 AM »
From Page 36 of The Hunters Starter Rulebook under Followers:

Each follower has the keyword "Aid" which you can use to transfer that follower to one of your companions.

From Page 38 under Aid:

The follower is borne by the companion for the rest of the turn, no matter how often the fellowship moves.


My questions:

1. Does anyone have an argument that followers CAN be transferred from character to character if the fellowship double moves? (I believe they have to stay on the same character for the whole turn).

2. Does the same apply for Saruman, Servant of Sauron? All references to followers talk about 'companions' and 'fellowships', what about 'minions' and 'evil followers'?

3. Situation: If Saruman, SoS can be transferred from minion to minion if the free peoples player double moves then Isengard Ruined is played and Olorin wins the game by killing Treebeard, If Saruman cannot be transferred from Nazgul to Nazgul, I survive and win... What happens?

June 28, 2010, 06:38:50 AM
Reply #1

Tbiesty

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2010, 06:38:50 AM »
I don't believe the rulebook is completely clear regarding this.  So short of an "official" ruling, which I think in the end is what would really be needed, here's what I would say:

Since "Aid" is used to transfer to a companion or minion, but it doesn't specify where you transfer it from (Support Area verses another companion or minion). I would interpret that transferring is allowed.  However, based on what is said on page 38, that the follower is borne by the companion for the rest of the turn; I wonder if that is just clarifying that the follower doesn't return to the support area during the regroup phase (or when the fellowship moves), but can still be transferred if something allows it to be.  For example, Sam, Bearer of Great Need can transfer a follower to the support area, even thought the default rule is for him to bear it for the rest of the turn.

In summary, in short of an "official" clarification, I would interpret that followers (Free Peoples and Shadow) can be transferred.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 06:40:25 AM by Tbiesty »

June 28, 2010, 09:58:33 AM
Reply #2

Witchkingx5

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1159
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2010, 09:58:33 AM »
Well, i asked myself those questions pretty often, as I have a copy of Woodhall Elf, Exile in each of my Standard elven Decks, while this should be really nice for double- or triple moves (Radagast).

I think yes. On all questions. The whole thing should work, so if a card says "at the start of the maneuver phase" and there are no other restrictions, it's very simple.

"All cards do what they say", a wise men once said... or was it just a creature from Tatooine? I don't know.

June 28, 2010, 10:25:56 AM
Reply #3

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2010, 10:25:56 AM »
IMO the intent isn't clear here. However, both Merrick and Bib have said that transferring is allowed (here and here), so that's how I'd play.

June 28, 2010, 05:17:18 PM
Reply #4

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2010, 05:17:18 PM »

The follower is borne by the companion for the rest of the turn, no matter how often the fellowship moves.


So this means nothing then?

June 28, 2010, 05:24:11 PM
Reply #5

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2010, 05:24:11 PM »
Just read the rulebooks again, and I think that the only transferring that can be done is between a companion and the support-area. I see nowhere to suggest that they can simply be transferred between companions.

June 28, 2010, 05:26:43 PM
Reply #6

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2010, 05:26:43 PM »

The follower is borne by the companion for the rest of the turn, no matter how often the fellowship moves.


So this means nothing then?

Besides cards that specifically remove followers beforehand (such as BOGN), I think this is true.

June 29, 2010, 05:43:13 AM
Reply #7

tristelune

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 40
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2010, 05:43:13 AM »
IMO the intent isn't clear here. However, both Merrick and Bib have said that transferring is allowed (here and here), so that's how I'd play.

Speaking of Bib, where is he??

June 29, 2010, 06:14:07 AM
Reply #8

Olorin

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 510
  • You shall not pass!
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2010, 06:14:07 AM »
In my region Austria/Germany we play that followers may be transferred at the strat of the maneuver phase - if you have doubled, you may transfer the follower from one companion to another, as long as you pay the cost (aid) for it - that's like we manage this... so, is it correct? (--> lore text on follower says: transfer at the start of the maneuver phase - no word of "from support area").
Mithrandir I am known to the Elves, Tharkun to the dwarves; Olorin was the name in my youth in the West which is forgotten, in the South Incanus, in the North Gandalf; into the East I will not go."

June 29, 2010, 09:03:19 AM
Reply #9

Witchkingx5

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1159
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2010, 09:03:19 AM »
In my region Austria/Germany we play that followers may be transferred at the strat of the maneuver phase - if you have doubled, you may transfer the follower from one companion to another, as long as you pay the cost (aid) for it - that's like we manage this... so, is it correct? (--> lore text on follower says: transfer at the start of the maneuver phase - no word of "from support area").

that's exactly what I said, and how I handle it.

June 29, 2010, 04:56:36 PM
Reply #10

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2010, 04:56:36 PM »
The follower is borne by the companion for the rest of the turn, no matter how often the fellowship moves.

I think you guys are playing it wrong. Do you just choose to ignore the above sentence!?

June 29, 2010, 04:59:51 PM
Reply #11

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2010, 04:59:51 PM »
I didn't.

June 29, 2010, 05:24:20 PM
Reply #12

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2010, 05:24:20 PM »
Yeah, I agree with you Lurtzy and the rulebook. Everyone else must not care that it says followers stay for the whole turn..

June 29, 2010, 11:23:23 PM
Reply #13

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2010, 11:23:23 PM »
 From Page 38 of The Hunters Starter Rulebook under Followers:

During the regroup phase, when the Free Peoples player reconciles and minions are discarded, each follower is transferred back to the support area (at no cost).

In later turns, that follower may again be transferred to a companion (the same one or a diiferent one, your choice)



This also suggests to me that followers are only meant to be transferred once per turn.

June 30, 2010, 07:20:26 AM
Reply #14

Witchkingx5

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1159
Re: Followers, aid, transfering etc..
« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2010, 07:20:26 AM »
We'll getting into some serious problems in here.. one side says "yes" and the other side "no" while there's n o way to prove any of the opinions, only by interpretation, which doesn't seem really good to me...

Hawkeye, are you outta here? Could you help us?