Basically use Merry's sword to exert everything...
I have a question here - the wording on
Merry's Sword ("... exert a minion once for each Rohan companion you can spot") has me a little confused as I am not quite an expert on card wordings. Is it saying that you exert a single minion up to as many Rohan companions as you can spot, or that you can exert separate minions (once each) up to as many Rohan companions as you can spot? Upon my first reading I was thinking the former but now I am leaning towards the latter.

My intentions are not to turn this into a rules debate, just wanted to ask.