LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Newbie Question  (Read 4114 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

November 19, 2010, 02:04:43 PM
Read 4114 times

The New Guy

  • Guest
Newbie Question
« on: November 19, 2010, 02:04:43 PM »
When it says "to" does that mean your opponet gets to pick or do you?
    Like if it "says Exert
Albert Dreary to discard a Goblin or Isengard condition."
So do I get to choose or does my opponet????
    ThANKS!!!  :mrgreen:
[/list]

November 19, 2010, 02:20:28 PM
Reply #1

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2010, 02:20:28 PM »
You choose what you are discarding.
-wtk

November 19, 2010, 03:40:39 PM
Reply #2

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2010, 03:40:39 PM »
It has very little to do with "to". If it says to discard a condition, then you discard a condition... if it says to make your opponent discard a condition, then that you choose an opponent who will discard one of his conditions.

A wise man once said: "All cards do what they say."
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

November 19, 2010, 03:54:23 PM
Reply #3

argyles

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 20
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2010, 03:54:23 PM »
just for the record :
i am 99% sure that u know how it works but u made a mistake
if it says to make your opponent discard a condition, then that you choose an opponent who will discard one of his conditions.

if it says to make your opponent discard a condition,then you make your opponent discard one of HIS or YOURS or a 3rd guys' condition.
It has to say make your opponent discard his condition etc etc etc.If it doesnt specify whose card to discard u can do as u wish :)

example : http://lotrtcgwiki.com/pages/LOTR05080.html
usually arrow slits is used in order to discard a shadow condition or a machine but lets say that :
shadow player in shadow phase plays grima
maneuver phase starts and  fellowship player discards arrow slits  in order to discard a rohirrim javelin from eomer third marshal which already has firefoot and eomers' spear so grima cannot affect eomer's possessions.


November 20, 2010, 10:54:02 AM
Reply #4

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2010, 10:54:02 AM »
if it says to make your opponent discard a condition,then you make your opponent discard one of HIS or YOURS or a 3rd guys' condition.
It has to say make your opponent discard his condition etc etc etc.If it doesnt specify whose card to discard u can do as u wish :)

I am not sure if Shadow Player is allowed to discard other Shadow Player's cards if the text of the card doesn't specifically say so. If an opponent is chosen, then that opponent discards his cards. I'll mention Sword of Dol Guldur. The text of the card says that Free Peoples player must discard a possession or a condition. That may lead someone to conclusion that Free Peoples player can discard shadow cards, but that is not the case. There is a clarification (not errata!) of the card that says that Free Peoples player must discard a Free Peoples possession or Free Peoples condition.

I mention this because it is declared as clarification, not errata. That means that the card text is not wrong, but someone might misinterpret it. That is why I think that when it says to choose an opponent who must discard a condition, then that opponent must discard his condition unless it says otherwise.

On most cards it does specify what can and cannot be discarded and who does the discarding so there is very little confusion.
 

example : http://lotrtcgwiki.com/pages/LOTR05080.html
usually arrow slits is used in order to discard a shadow condition or a machine but lets say that :
shadow player in shadow phase plays grima
maneuver phase starts and  fellowship player discards arrow slits  in order to discard a rohirrim javelin from eomer third marshal which already has firefoot and eomers' spear so grima cannot affect eomer's possessions.

I have used Arrow Slits in that manner. It's such a nice card. :)
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

November 20, 2010, 12:59:14 PM
Reply #5

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2010, 12:59:14 PM »
Some clarifications are attempts to cut down on the number of errata basically errata to make cards work as originally intended. Sword of Dol Guldur would have allowed the Free Peoples player to discard Shadow possessions/conditions (they're fair game for "a possession or condition"), but that was caught on the Decipher forums right away and fixed.

November 20, 2010, 02:30:27 PM
Reply #6

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2010, 02:30:27 PM »
Some clarifications are attempts to cut down on the number of errata basically errata to make cards work as originally intended. Sword of Dol Guldur would have allowed the Free Peoples player to discard Shadow possessions/conditions (they're fair game for "a possession or condition"), but that was caught on the Decipher forums right away and fixed.

True. I made a bad example. My point was that "choose an opponent" unambiguously specifies whose conditions or possessions are to be discarded (or be succumbed to some other effect, for that matter).
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

November 20, 2010, 04:42:24 PM
Reply #7

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2010, 04:42:24 PM »
I think a Catapult'ed opponent is still allowed to discard another (Shadow) player's card. Otherwise game text will say something like "his or her" (e.g. with Brooding on Tomorrow) to restrict this.

November 20, 2010, 04:55:01 PM
Reply #8

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2010, 04:55:01 PM »
I don't think so. The free peoples player here gets to choose 2 times. First he chooses who's card is revealed and then he chooses who does the discarding. I don't think the only purpose of that is to make other shadow players hate the one who discarded, but so that Free Peoples player has a little bit of control over which cards are to be discarded. That's what makes Catapult a very nasty card in multiplayer game.
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

November 21, 2010, 10:52:38 AM
Reply #9

itjunkie

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 181
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2010, 10:52:38 AM »
I agree with hrcho on catapult..