LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Mad Thing vs Unhasty  (Read 3291 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

November 30, 2010, 03:33:18 PM
Read 3291 times

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Mad Thing vs Unhasty
« on: November 30, 2010, 03:33:18 PM »
If the Free peoples player chooses to let the shadow player assign Mad Thing instead adding a burden or +3 strength..

Can the shadow player assign Gollum to Lindenroot if he chooses? (Triggering Lindenroot's Assignment text?)

Or are Unhasty companions safe from shadow player assigning?



 

November 30, 2010, 03:37:20 PM
Reply #1

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Mad Thing vs Unhasty
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 03:37:20 PM »
Quote from: Comprehensive Rules
The Free Peoples player cannot assign a character with this keyword to a skirmish unless it is at its home site (see ally) or when a [Gandalf] card allows it do so.
Shadow players may assign any leftover unassigned minions to unhasty companions.

Does that answer your question?

Thran

November 30, 2010, 03:40:13 PM
Reply #2

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Re: Mad Thing vs Unhasty
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2010, 03:40:13 PM »
Yeah, sort of.. Does Lindenroot then have to discard 2 cards (or exert a hobbit) if the shadow player assigns a minion to him?

Or does that only happen if the free peoples player assigns him?

November 30, 2010, 03:42:02 PM
Reply #3

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: Mad Thing vs Unhasty
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2010, 03:42:02 PM »
Yeah, sort of.. Does Lindenroot then have to discard 2 cards (or exert a hobbit) if the shadow player assigns a minion to him?

Or does that only happen if the free peoples player assigns him?
That only happens if you use that assignment action. If you don't and Lindenroot happens to be assigned some other way (for example, Between Nazgul and Prey, a Counts But One variant that would work for Ents, or in your example) then nothing happens.

It would be as you suggest if it said "Each time this companion is assigned to a skirmish, discard 2 cards from hand or exert an unbound Hobbit". But as it's an assignment action, you can either use it or not.

November 30, 2010, 07:53:01 PM
Reply #4

ket_the_jet

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2062
  • He/Him/His
Re: Mad Thing vs Unhasty
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2010, 07:53:01 PM »
Thranduil is on point. Just echoing that no discard is necessary.
-wtk

December 01, 2010, 04:33:03 PM
Reply #5

MuadDib85

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 940
Re: Mad Thing vs Unhasty
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2010, 04:33:03 PM »
Thanks. Silly me. :gp: each.