LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Elven Sword  (Read 7395 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

January 24, 2011, 02:18:01 PM
Read 7395 times

Terwin

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 48
Elven Sword
« on: January 24, 2011, 02:18:01 PM »
This came up in a game I was playing.

Faramir was assigned to skirmish. During this skirmish I used elven sword (on haldir) to discard two cards from hand to no effect.

My opponent insisted that this was illegal, I was sure it isn't. Can I get a consensus on this?

January 24, 2011, 02:20:17 PM
Reply #1

Tbiesty

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2011, 02:20:17 PM »
Yes, that is legal to do.

January 24, 2011, 03:50:19 PM
Reply #2

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2011, 03:50:19 PM »
Heck, you could discard two cards to cause an effect, like with glimpse of fate
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

January 24, 2011, 11:24:00 PM
Reply #3

V-R4NG3R

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 66
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2011, 11:24:00 PM »
elvensword says, to make a minion skirmishing bearer and glimpse of fate says 'a' minion in general.. wouldnt that make the difference?
There is always Hope?!

January 24, 2011, 11:47:01 PM
Reply #4

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2011, 11:47:01 PM »
The cost is exert or discard 2 cards. You then fulfil as much of the effect as possible.
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

January 25, 2011, 12:06:23 PM
Reply #5

Kralik

  • Guest
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2011, 12:06:23 PM »
On a related note, with certain burden-management decks, I will do things like put on the ring (Answer to All Riddles) while another companion is skirmishing, etc. You've paid the cost, even if it does nothing.

Long live cycling with Elven Sword! :mrgreen:

January 25, 2011, 01:41:00 PM
Reply #6

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2011, 01:41:00 PM »
yeah, just remember that its 2 cards and not just one. ;-)

January 26, 2011, 08:24:53 AM
Reply #7

Terwin

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 48
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2011, 08:24:53 AM »
:) macheteman, you words prick my conscience.

Actually I just hadn't played in a while...

Thnx for all the replies people.

June 16, 2011, 06:57:39 AM
Reply #8

Argonmann

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 10
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #8 on: June 16, 2011, 06:57:39 AM »
I don't want to restart this discussion, but I still don't quite understand why you can use the "Skirmish:"-Ability on Elven Sword when Haldir isn't even assigned to a skirmish? So is it ok to use a special ability and pay the costs (exert/discard/remove...) even if you know the effect cannot happen?

Regarding Elven Sword, I would think the minimum requirement is that Haldir is assigned to a skirmish...?

June 16, 2011, 08:52:37 AM
Reply #9

gk1964

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 35
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2011, 08:52:37 AM »
If that were the case then Saruman, Agent of the Dark Lord would only be able to exert to boost himself.

June 16, 2011, 09:05:20 AM
Reply #10

Argonmann

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 10
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2011, 09:05:20 AM »
If that were the case then Saruman, Agent of the Dark Lord would only be able to exert to boost himself.

I think that is a different case. You may exert Saruman in any skirmish phase to make a minion in that skirmish strength +2 – I understand that. But with Elven Sword, is it possible to perform the skirmish special ability in any skirmish phase, even if there is no minion(S) assigned to the bearer of Elven Sword (ergo no effect)? So it's just a chance to discard 2 cards from hand you want to get rid of?

June 16, 2011, 09:08:39 AM
Reply #11

HawkeyeSPF

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 639
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2011, 09:08:39 AM »
Trust us on this, Elven Sword works as described. You may perform the action for no result.

June 16, 2011, 09:35:34 AM
Reply #12

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #12 on: June 16, 2011, 09:35:34 AM »
there are 2 parts to elven sword. the cost and the effect. costs can be paid even with no result.

for elven sword the 2 parts go like this.

cost: "exert bearer or discard 2 cards from hand"
effect: "make a minion skirmishing bearer strength -1"

Now if the card read: "spot a minion skirmishing bearer and discard 2 cards from hand, that minion is strength -1." then the skirmishing would be part of the cost. but it isn't.

June 16, 2011, 10:11:46 AM
Reply #13

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #13 on: June 16, 2011, 10:11:46 AM »
Maybe it'd help to compare Elven Sword to Ranger's Bow. The "If bearer is skirmishing a Man or a roaming minion" part of the Bow is a requirement that must be met before you can even pay the cost of exerting its bearer. The Sword doesn't have such a requirement, so it's just a matter of paying the costs to no effect (if its bearer isn't skirmishing).

June 16, 2011, 11:52:39 AM
Reply #14

Argonmann

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 10
Re: Elven Sword
« Reply #14 on: June 16, 2011, 11:52:39 AM »
there are 2 parts to elven sword. the cost and the effect. costs can be paid even with no result.

All right, that makes it clear. But, for another example: Could I just use the Archery special ability on Legolas, Greenleaf when there are not any minions at all (it wouldn't make any sense of course)? And if so, would he still not add to the fellowship archery total as this the second part of the effect, like:

- Exert Legolas (cost), then
- wound a minion (effect a) and he does not add to the fellowship archery total (effect b)

Or is wounding a minion the requirement for not adding to the fellowship archery total?
« Last Edit: June 16, 2011, 11:55:37 AM by Argonmann »