LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Bridge of khazad-dum  (Read 4894 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

March 13, 2011, 08:26:53 PM
Read 4894 times

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Bridge of khazad-dum
« on: March 13, 2011, 08:26:53 PM »
hey, quick FOTR bridge of khazad-dum question. i'm assuming that the two bits of gametext are separate, and that the -6 cost applies even if you use a card like power and terror to play the balrog.

thanks,

-mm

March 13, 2011, 08:43:49 PM
Reply #1

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Bridge of khazad-dum
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2011, 08:43:49 PM »
The twilight cost reduction is part of the Shadow phase action (note the semicolon).

March 14, 2011, 04:42:07 AM
Reply #2

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: Bridge of khazad-dum
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2011, 04:42:07 AM »
Normally, I'd think otherwise, but Power and Terror, specifically, does NOT instruct you to play the Balrog right then, unlike Bridge, so I assume both reductions can be applied if you play Power and Terror first. But I'd like a resident rules guru to tackle it.

March 14, 2011, 05:28:55 AM
Reply #3

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Bridge of khazad-dum
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2011, 05:28:55 AM »
...but Power and Terror, specifically, does NOT instruct you to play the Balrog right then, unlike Bridge...

Power and Terror makes you play The Balrog.

Shadow: Reveal any number of [Moria] Orcs from hand to play The Balrog. Its twilight cost is -2 for each [Moria] Orc revealed.

The cost is to reveal orcs from hand and the effect is the playing of The Balrog. If you can fulfill the effect, you have to. If you can't, you played the card and paid the cost for no effect. 
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

March 14, 2011, 05:58:39 AM
Reply #4

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: Bridge of khazad-dum
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2011, 05:58:39 AM »
Shouldn't it read "and play the Balrog", then? I read it somewhat as "Reveal any number of [Moria] Orcs to play the Balrog in this Shadow phase. If you do, it is twilight cost...". I can see your point, though, and Decipher is not exactly know for being wording savvys. ([Orc] Archers? Really?)

March 14, 2011, 06:10:50 AM
Reply #5

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Bridge of khazad-dum
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2011, 06:10:50 AM »
Usually, whenever it says to play something and it's not specified from where, it is meant from hand. So you are bound to play The Balrog if you can with Power and Terror. Also, effects from events last only as long as those events are in the void (unless it is specified otherwise e.g. Depart Silently).
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

March 14, 2011, 08:02:55 AM
Reply #6

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Bridge of khazad-dum
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2011, 08:02:55 AM »
FM, I think the wording you're looking for would be something like "Shadow: Reveal any number of [Moria] Orcs from your hand to make The Balrog twilight cost -2 for each Orc revealed."

Incidentally, you'd need The Balrog in your hand before playing Power and Terror (one of those extra conditions under the "effect" entry).

March 14, 2011, 09:28:49 AM
Reply #7

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Re: Bridge of khazad-dum
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2011, 09:28:49 AM »
ok, so to sum up, power and terror and the bridge are separate shadow actions, and therefore cannot be combined. the semi-colon links the -6 twilight cost to the action of playing from hand or from draw deck.

bottom line being, they cannot combine.

correct?

March 14, 2011, 09:31:34 AM
Reply #8

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Bridge of khazad-dum
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2011, 09:31:34 AM »
Correct.
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

March 14, 2011, 02:15:00 PM
Reply #9

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Re: Bridge of khazad-dum
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2011, 02:15:00 PM »
awesome sauce!