LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Ambush  (Read 2817 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

March 15, 2011, 09:57:37 AM
Read 2817 times

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Ambush
« on: March 15, 2011, 09:57:37 AM »
lets say there is one minion on the table with ambush 5. is the freeps player allowed to not assign it, and let the shadow player assign, so that the 5 ambush twilight isn't added?

thanks,

-mm

March 15, 2011, 10:00:48 AM
Reply #1

uncle_elrond

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 119
Re: Ambush
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2011, 10:00:48 AM »
Ambush gets added regardless of who assigns the minion.

March 15, 2011, 10:04:15 AM
Reply #2

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Ambush
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2011, 10:04:15 AM »
Of course. Free Peoples player can always choose not to assign minions which are then considered leftover and are free to be assigned by shadow player to any companion (or possibly ally).

Since ambush is added only when the Free Peoples player assigns minions, no twilight is added when the Free Peoples player chooses not assign minions with ambush.

This tactic is most commonly used against Captain Crunch bearing Raider Bow or Ambush Southrouns when you know you can expect Whirling Strike or Red Wrath.
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

March 15, 2011, 10:09:18 AM
Reply #3

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Ambush
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2011, 10:09:18 AM »
Ambush gets added regardless of who assigns the minion.

Not true.

Quote from:  Rulebook -  Ambush
ambush
When the Free Peoples player assigns one of his characters to skirmish a minion with the keyword "ambush ," the Shadow player who owns that minion may add . (See assignment phase.) If your minion with ambush  is assigned by the Free Peoples player, you may add two tokens to the twilight pool. The Free Peoples player may decide not to assign any characters to your minion with ambush, allowing you to assign it later in the assignment phase. When a minion with the keyword ambush  is given the keyword ambush  by another card or special ability, each of those instances of ambush is resolved separately. When that minion is assigned to a skirmish by the Free Peoples player, the Shadow player has the option to add pool for each instance inthe minion's text. Desert Scout ("Ambush [2].") is equipped with Raider Bow ("Bearer is ... ambush [5] ."). When it is assigned to a skirmish by the Free Peoples player, the Shadow player may add  [2],[5] , neither, or both (as separate actions).


Also note that the Shadow Player can choose to add ambush twilight or not. This is useful against Gandalf, The White Wizard for example.
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

March 15, 2011, 11:27:58 AM
Reply #4

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Re: Ambush
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2011, 11:27:58 AM »
that is what i thought, thank you, just clearing things up for my opponent.

thank you,

-mm