LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Discarded when played  (Read 3154 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

April 06, 2011, 06:57:50 PM
Read 3154 times

Shelobplayer

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 482
Discarded when played
« on: April 06, 2011, 06:57:50 PM »
It's not completely clear to me, so can you guys please enlighten me :o... Just a couple of examples: I play So Polite with Many Tentacled Creature on the board, do I get the twilight from So Polite? Or, if my opponent plays a Corsair Marauder/Plunderer/Ruffian/etc. and I kill it with Shadowplay + Unheeded, do their abilities trigger?

April 06, 2011, 07:33:13 PM
Reply #1

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Discarded when played
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2011, 07:33:13 PM »
Many Tentacled Creature is not overly clear in its wording. It doesn't say "When you play..." or "While you can spot..." so it isn't clear whether you can play minions after you play MTC. If someone has official wording to back up either argument please provide it; I am unable to find any.

The other example you cite is slightly different, as it concerns the playing a card entry in the CRD.

Step 5. - Respond to the playing of The Card
Step 6. - Perform effects of The Card

As it stands, Shadowplay / Unheeded happens between 5 and 6, so it would interrupt the effects.
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

April 06, 2011, 08:01:25 PM
Reply #2

Shelobplayer

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 482
Re: Discarded when played
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2011, 08:01:25 PM »
Thanks! I always sucked at layering rules in Magic too :P.

Regarding MTC, with the analogy of Keeper of Westgate, it should be "while you can spot...". I know it's not official, but I will play it like that. What's the answer in that case?

April 06, 2011, 09:05:36 PM
Reply #3

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Discarded when played
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2011, 09:05:36 PM »
In that case, Gollum would be discarded and it would be considered a cost change as per step 3 in the playing a card instructions
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

April 06, 2011, 11:23:46 PM
Reply #4

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Discarded when played
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2011, 11:23:46 PM »
1. As written, "Discard all..." seems to represent a one-time action that happens when you play a card (although the rules aren't particularly clear here). That said, I think Many-tentacled Creature was supposed to mirror the original Keeper of Westgate, so I would play it as a "while" thing.

Given the above, you won't get twilight from So Polite because Gollum is discarded when he comes into play. The rules mention "effects triggered" such as "When you play" / "Each time you play," but considering that the Northern Ithilien cheese was stopped by this rule, I think that extends to the cost/effect scenario as well.

2. Don't have the details here, but it seems Decipher ruled that the Corsair Marauder would still get his effect. The rules to me don't seem to support this (and this topic was discussed a few times), so again personally, I'd play it so that the Marauder won't get his effect.

April 07, 2011, 12:43:12 PM
Reply #5

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Discarded when played
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2011, 12:43:12 PM »
2. Don't have the details here, but it seems Decipher ruled that the Corsair Marauder would still get his effect. The rules to me don't seem to support this (and this topic was discussed a few times), so again personally, I'd play it so that the Marauder won't get his effect.

The rules support the way we have suggested; if someone has the official ruling that says otherwise, please let us know.
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"