LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Which happens first? Gandalf, BoO & Radagast's Staff  (Read 4519 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

July 12, 2011, 06:02:39 AM
Read 4519 times

Mabrothrax

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 15
  • Help! I'm covered in bees!
Which happens first? Gandalf, BoO & Radagast's Staff
« on: July 12, 2011, 06:02:39 AM »
I have a question:

When I move during the regroup phase can I draw for Radagst's staff before discarding for Gandalf  BoO?

BoO text-
While Gandalf is the Ring-bearer, each time the fellowship moves, add 3 burdens unless you spot 2 other companions and discard 2 [Gandalf] cards from hand.

Radagast's staff text-
Bearer must be Radagast. Each time the fellowship moves during the regroup phase, you may draw 2 cards.


July 12, 2011, 06:13:56 AM
Reply #1

leokula

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 870
Re: Which happens first? Gandalf, BoO & Radagast's Staff
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2011, 06:13:56 AM »
I'm pretty confident there's no rule to state what happens first in this case, they're both triggering at the same time, so the free peoples player can just choose.

July 12, 2011, 07:05:56 AM
Reply #2

Doom

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 150
  • Master of Doom, by Doom mastered. (AKA doomkitty)
Re: Which happens first? Gandalf, BoO & Radagast's Staff
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2011, 07:05:56 AM »
Yep leokula is right ^

July 12, 2011, 07:07:48 AM
Reply #3

Mabrothrax

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 15
  • Help! I'm covered in bees!
Re: Which happens first? Gandalf, BoO & Radagast's Staff
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2011, 07:07:48 AM »
Sexy time.

Cheers guys.

July 12, 2011, 08:17:39 AM
Reply #4

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: Which happens first? Gandalf, BoO & Radagast's Staff
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2011, 08:17:39 AM »
I would think BoO happens first, as that is a required action, whereas Radagast's Staff (using "may") is an optional action.

July 12, 2011, 08:25:24 AM
Reply #5

Gartax

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 104
Re: Which happens first? Gandalf, BoO & Radagast's Staff
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2011, 08:25:24 AM »
Elessar is right!

Mandatory action always come first

July 12, 2011, 09:26:42 AM
Reply #6

Mabrothrax

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 15
  • Help! I'm covered in bees!
Re: Which happens first? Gandalf, BoO & Radagast's Staff
« Reply #6 on: July 12, 2011, 09:26:42 AM »
Hmm. I see.

July 12, 2011, 01:21:02 PM
Reply #7

Doom

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 150
  • Master of Doom, by Doom mastered. (AKA doomkitty)
Re: Which happens first? Gandalf, BoO & Radagast's Staff
« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2011, 01:21:02 PM »
Are you sure? Is that in the rulebook?

July 12, 2011, 02:02:52 PM
Reply #8

Mabrothrax

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 15
  • Help! I'm covered in bees!
Re: Which happens first? Gandalf, BoO & Radagast's Staff
« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2011, 02:02:52 PM »
I certainly get the idea of 'may' vs. an implied 'must', but an action that is voluntary doesn't  necessarily occur before one that is mandatory when both are occurring theoretically simultaneously. Or something like that.

How I miss being a Trek TD. The endless discussions of timing and logic were hilarious.

That was 'cool' (score 5 points)

July 12, 2011, 02:31:00 PM
Reply #9

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1938
Re: Which happens first? Gandalf, BoO & Radagast's Staff
« Reply #9 on: July 12, 2011, 02:31:00 PM »
nothing ever happens at the same time. mandatory actions always precede optional abilities.

July 12, 2011, 03:13:37 PM
Reply #10

Doom

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 150
  • Master of Doom, by Doom mastered. (AKA doomkitty)
Re: Which happens first? Gandalf, BoO & Radagast's Staff
« Reply #10 on: July 12, 2011, 03:13:37 PM »
Oh you're right, just checked the rulebook.